Latest Vintage Sewing Project – Vogue 9084

I’ve had this super red and grey wool plaid fabric for several years, and I’ve had plans to make a jacket.  But then a red plaid Pendleton 49er came into my life, and I realized I just didn’t need another red plaid jacket.  So I put the fabric on the back burner.  When I found this pattern from the 70s, I knew exactly what the new plan was.

Except for sweaters and jackets, I really don’t wear vintage clothing.  But all my sewing is done with vintage patterns.  I’ve noticed that I’m attracted to two different eras:  the very early 1960s and the mid to late 1970s.  I’ve never been a ruffles and frills type of girl, and so I’m attracted to clean lines and interesting – but minimal – detailing.   This top is exactly the kind of thing I wore in college in the 70s.  I’m not saying my style hasn’t changed in 35 years, but I have come to appreciate what was good about the mid 70s.

I made a lot of my clothes back in the 70s, but I never used Vogue patterns, not when they cost $2.50 each and Simplicity ones were only $1.  It’s just as well, because even today I find that the instructions are often difficult to follow.  The method they used for putting in the front placket and collar were like nothing I’d ever encountered.  I had to finally say, “Forget that,”  and used my own method.  It reminded me of my grandmother, who taught me how to sew.  One day we were working on a project when she told me to do a certain thing that was not what the instruction sheet said to do.  When I told her she wasn’t following the instructions, she replied, “The instructions are for people who don’t know what they are doing.”

I don’t go in for frills, but I do adore interesting buttons.  I’m not sure if I’ll leave these fishing buttons on. They were my second choice after the original ones turned out to be too big for my buttonholes.  How could I make a mistake like that?

And a fuzzy photo of me trying to get some work accomplished.  Note the staircase to my left.  The stairs split and go left and right to the bedrooms.

15 Comments

Filed under Vintage Sewing

15 responses to “Latest Vintage Sewing Project – Vogue 9084

  1. I think that looks great, and I love the details on the button! Looks like a perfect way to stay warm but not too bulky during this cold winter. And that gentleman behind you seems to like what he sees as well!

    Like this

  2. I love this top. It looks very cozy for winter.

    Like this

  3. Nice top, and love the Clark Gable behind you.

    Like this

  4. I didn’t even notice Clark back there! This clothes hanger was part of a series made in 1967. I also have Bogart and Mae West. I need to photograph these and show them here.

    Like this

  5. wonderful shirt, and I do believe Mr. Gable approves!

    Like this

  6. The shirt turned out beautifully, the pattern is pretty and it fits you well!
    And I LOVE the staircase – I’m curious to see where it (they) go.

    Like this

  7. mojavegirl

    It’s a great top! The fabric was perfect for it.

    Like this

  8. Mei

    Beautifully made! You look great. I love shirts with this silhouette as well.

    I was wondering if you could help me with some vintage advice. I wanted to buy a pair of lingerie clips/clasps, but how do they work? Do I clip them inside my shirt/dress, against the seam, or are they for the outside of my garments? I have tried to find photos illustrating how to use lingerie clips, but I can’t find any examples.

    Like this

  9. Mei, most of the ones I’ve seen clip onto the straps, with the purpose of keeping the straps from a bra and a slip together. You would clip them with the decorative side up, and the clip side against the skin.

    Like this

    • Mei

      Thanks! I was Googling “How to Use Lingerie Clips,” but it was useless. I’m not sure how useful these are for me, since I mostly wear half slips! Darn. :(

      Thank you again!

      Like this

  10. Greetings!
    Thank you for your kind comments on our blog about our dear little dog. If you can believe it this very minute is the first time I have been all alone in my house without him in 20 years. When your dog is with you you are never alone, so this is definitely a major life adjustment for me!
    I think that our grandmother’s would have gotten along famously! My grandmother often eschewed directions and always(well almost always) made the cake, the dress or the curtains even better with her own twist with a bit of innovation thrown in!
    Peace and Plenty,
    Sherrill

    Like this

  11. kerri

    Oh how I love this pattern! I’ve been searching for it and just can’t seem to run across them. Makes me wish I’d nabbed it at a thrift store years ago. Lovely!

    Like this

Leave a Reply

