100 Years of Girl Scouting

The Girl Scouts of America celebrated their 100th birthday yesterday.  I celebrated by looking through this 1933 handbook that I found the the Goodwill Store a few weeks ago.  It’s a fascinating look at how scouting and the education of girls has changed.  The book contains not just the guide to the outdoors that one might expect, but also such topics as “The Girl Scout Homemaker” and “Taking Care of Younger Children.”

When I was about ten, my greatest ambition in life was to be a Girl Scout.  Unfortunately for me, our community did not have a troop.  One day the rumor started going around school that a troop was forming at the church that was located next to my school.  There was to be a meeting on a certain day, and all the girls could join up.  On the appointed day, a group of girls gathered at the church, eagerly awaiting the Girls Scout Leader, for for some odd reason, no one showed up.  Looking back, I’m pretty sure that I was the one that started the rumor, as though I could somehow will my wish into being!

Years later I finally did become a Girl Scout, as a co-leader with a friend of mine.  I am positive it would have been more fun at ten than it was at 35!

All illustrations are from the 1933 edition of the Girl Scout Handbook

5 Comments

Filed under Camping and Hiking

5 responses to “100 Years of Girl Scouting

  1. KC

    A Girl Scout always leaves a place cleaner than she found it. I have always found that idea to be very profound.

    Like

  2. Barb

    I couldn’t wait to join the Girl Scouts, but there were no Brownie leaders in my area. One brave leader emerged, and we were Brownies!! My joy was short lived as she decided that she could no longer be the leader. A new and wonderful pastor’s wife moved to town and we all became Camp Fire Girls. Happiest memories of my childhood, I think. Still never made the Girl Scouts, only the Boy Scouts!

    Like

  3. Girl Scout camp is where I learned, among other things, the invaluable skill of taking off a bra without removing your shirt (it winds up exiting out one sleeve). More useful than beadwork!

    Did you see the cute late-1930s Girl Scout uniform pattern that turned up on Etsy recently?
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/95061816/late-1930s-girl-scout-uniform-or-juniors

    Like

  4. Ethel J McCoy who started Camp Junaluska for Girls in Haywood county actually brought her newly formed girl Sout group from FL up to NC. Those were our first campers. Anyone have more information on this????

    Like

Leave a Reply

