Vintage Cashmere Sweaters

I mentioned last week that my first vintage clothing obsession was cashmere sweaters.  One of the very first things I wrote for the Vintage Fashion Guild website was an article on cashmere.  I’ve updated and adapted the information for the Vintage Traveler™.  Today, a short history of the fashionable cashmere sweater:

Knitting machines were developed during the Industrial Revolution, but until the 1920s knits were utilitarian or athletic items, not fashion statements.  Men and women wore sweaters during winter sporting activities and on casual outings.  In the 1920s, this all changed with Patou making high fashion knit sportswear and Chanel with her jersey knits.  In 1928 Schiaparelli made her famous trompe l’oeil bow sweaters .  By 1933, Pringle in Scotland was making fashionable sweaters of cashmere, introducing the twin set shortly thereafter.

When in 1937 actress Lana Turner appeared in They Won’t Forget wearing a tight sweater, the craze for sweaters was born.

Early 1960s beaded sweater

In 1940, American designer Clare Potter included decorated evening sweaters in her collection.  A year later, Mainbocher took British-made cashmere cardigans and decorated them for evening wear.  Sometimes they were made as part of a dress ensemble, with the lining of the sweater matching the dress.  He  decorated sweaters with beads, sequins, metal studs and fabric trim.  This started a trend for decorated sweaters that continued into the 1960s.

I am showing further developments of the sweater cardigan because good ideas, like good friends, I don’t think should be cast aside.  Mainbocher, 1943 in Harper’s Bazaar

Helen Bond Carruthers appliqued sweater

The evening sweater was an important part of the 1950 woman’s wardrobe.  These sweaters were decorated in various ways: sequins, embroidery, appliqué, lace, beads, rhinestones and huge fur collars.  A sweater would often exhibit a combination of these decorations.  Many were lined in sheer, light-weight silk, sometimes with a layer of lace between the sweater and the silk.

Cashmere also became very popular for day.  Many women had a twin set or two.  A twin set was a pullover, often sleeveless or with short sleeves, and a matching cardigan.  Sometimes the two pieces contrasted with coordinating trim. The sweaters often had jewel necklines to complement the string of pearls that many women wore with them.

From the 1940s and into the 1950s, teenage girls would wear their (or their mothers’) cardigans backward, buttoned up the back.  College girls of the period bought twin sets as an important part of their college wardrobes.

Pringle ad aimed at the ‘College Girl’, , 1951

Cashmere sweaters were knit not only in fashionable solid colors, they were also knit in intarsia designs.  Intarsia is a knitting process that results in a sort of inlay of design.  Argyles were popular, as were flowers, butterflies and other designs from nature.  There were often pretty details such as collars, matching mother-of-pearl buttons and contrasting satin trim.

Most 1950s sweaters had three-quarter, or bracelet length sleeves. This sleeve length remained popular into the early 60s.  Later in the decade sleeves lengthened to cover the wrist.

1950s sweater with intarsia knit bows.

In the 1960s, cashmere and other natural fibers faced fierce competition from synthetics such as polyester and acrylic.  Many people loved the “easy care” aspect of synthetics and so natural fibers suffered.  Some cashmere companies, such as Dalton, actually switched much of their production to synthetics.   And while cashmere was still being used by high-end designers such as Halston, for the average consumer cashmere was becoming a thing of the past.

As a plus, the sweater styles of the early 1970s tended to be bulky, and so the cashmere from that era is very thick and lush.  Hadley began making a knit that was made from as many as 8 plies of yarn, as opposed to the average 2 or 3.  It was not enough to save them, and the company closed in the mid 1970s.

Tomorrow:  Hints for buying vintage cashmere.

19 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Vintage Clothing

19 responses to “Vintage Cashmere Sweaters

  1. Nancy Wallace

    I appreciate your articles. thank you

    Like

  2. That bow sweater is to die for! And I never thought about wearing sweaters backwards, I just thought of them as button down the back sweaters! I think I may try this now! Thank you!

    Do you have any recommendations for caring for cashmere? Must it be dry cleaned, or is there a nifty tip for hand-washing?

    Like

  3. Inky

    I got hooked on cashmere (mostly vintage) a few years ago. I love turtlenecks and they are so useful when traveling in the cool weather. They’re lightweight, warm and easy to pull on over jeans and slacks. The vintage sweaters I own are much thicker and pleasurable to wear than the new ones. I love your blog and read it daily.

    Like

  4. Mel Campbell

    I actually read that cashmere article at the Vintage Fashion Guild site and didn’t realise you wrote it! (I’ve only started reading your excellent blog in the last few months.)

    Once upon a time I had some lovely Pringle cashmere jumpers but I got rid of them all because I prefer cardigans now. Two are the fancy beaded sort but they’re the later Hong Kong variety.

    I also used to wear my cardigans backwards and am chagrined to learn I did not invent this practice.

    Like

  5. I am kicking myself for passing over a perfect baby blue cashmere sweater embroidered with clear and white beading. I was with someone and didn’t try it on. When I went back, naturally it was gone. It was in perfect condition, no repairs, holes, missing beads. Looked to be about 1950 (not much later) and was only about $30. I’m still thinking about it. Loved this post and loved the past post where you gave us that delightful Girl Scout manual. You make me think and ponder all the things that I love.

    Like

  6. Thanks for all the great info here–though the eye candy of those beautiful sweaters was a bit distracting! Gorgeous examples. I love the idea of evening cardigans with linings made from the fabric of the matching dress.

    Like

  7. I just found your blog in a search, and I am in love! Your blog is an amazing resource and I cannot wait to have more time to look around. (Have to be somewhere soon.) Anyway, I am a North Carolina girl and will certainly enjoy your North Carolina posts. We have a wealth of antiquing here in Hillsborough/Burlington area.

    I hate to start our blog communication by asking for a favor but you seem to know a lot about vintage clothing, and I also saw that you had information about Kerrybrooke. I recently found a cute Kerrybrooke dress that I purchased and I just love it! But I am not sure what year it would be from. 50s or 60s. If you care to take a look and a guess at the date, the post is here:

    http://www.amothersjournal.com/2012/04/02/from-fort-monroe-to-kerrybrooke/

    If you don’t have time, I totally understand!

    Lynn

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for dropping in and for your help! I very much appreciate the resource you shared!! Thanks again!

    Lynn

    Like

  9. Pingback: Thrifting Blog Digest- #44 | Late Night Coffee

  10. lovely article! I love learning things I didn’t know–thanks so much!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Cashmere Sweaters Never Goes Out of style | Johnny Da Vintage

  12. Elzbieta

    Found a black sweater with copper colored beaded vine along all edges. 3/4 sleeves. Closes with hooks which also close side slits. Lined with black silk except for sleeves. No brand label, except for European size 38. In style, it resembles Chinese shirt and I lean towards Hong Kong manufacturing. All edges with satin binding. Any suggestions about where it might have come from and when was it made?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.