Luck and Brooke Cadwallader

This post is about luck, on several different levels.  I feel so lucky to live in a time when communication with other collectors, history lovers and vintage nuts is so easy.   It seems like all I have to do is make a post about some obscure designer or store or manufacturer, and the information just starts flowing.

A year ago I posted photos of a Brooke Cadwallader scarf I had found.  The Cadwallader name is well-known to scarf and textile collectors, and anyone who has ever found one of his scarves will know from the quality that they have a special object.  But for the most part, Brooke Cadwallader has been forgotten and information about him is hard to come by.  Information is so scarce that if one does a google search for him, my old blog post is first in the results.  Because of that, I still get lots of hits to that post, and people are continuing to share what they know about Cadwallader and his textiles.

One poster, Janis, mentioned that the Cadwalladers designed a special scarf every year that they gave out as Christmas gifts.   I’m asking you, how lucky were those friends, when the cost of a Brooke Cadwallader scarf was about $175 in today’s dollar?

Then a few days ago, another reader, Beth,  posted that she had found some of the Christmas scarves at a sale some years ago.  Again, I’d say Beth is pretty darned lucky.  And she’s nice too, because she sent photos for me to share, and she gave some links to some very informative old articles about the Cadwalladers.  If you want to learn more about Brooke Cadwallader, you must read this article from Colliers, 1944, and this one from the New York Post, 1947.  Especially interesting was the story about how he and wife Mary left Paris as the Germans were occupying the city.

Note the poodles.  If you look at the New York Post article you’ll see a photo of Mary holding her poodle.

All images courtesy and copyright of Beth Walker.

9 Comments

Filed under Curiosities, Designers, Vintage Clothing

9 responses to “Luck and Brooke Cadwallader

  1. Great post! Love the photos and the articles about the Cadwalladers. Great information for future lucky scarf finders! I’ve got my fingers crossed and eyes peeled for these rare beauties.

    Like

  2. I adore scarves, been collecting them for a long time, these are fabulous! I agree about how lucky we are to live now and to be able to share our passion with so many like minded people all around the world, it is a true global village!

    Like

  3. Pink poodles! Love the whimsical graphics; perfect as art pieces

    Like

  4. joulesstar

    I’m jealous of Beth! Truly though, it was very nice of her to share the photos of the fantastic scarves, and those interesting 40s articles. Fabulous reading, for a scarf collector, and I am one.

    Like

  5. I am happy to have seen this post! ..and also lucky! A while back I stumbled upon an estate sale from someone who either was a descendant of Cadwallader or one of his employees – I bought at least 50 scarves, ties and neck pieces that were folded and unused. I will sell some of them on ETSY that are doubles but some are just too lovely to part with!!! Thanks for the links! The Met Museum actually has 25 samples of his work in their archives.

    Like

    • I’d say you are very lucky indeed! Be sure to let me know when you list them so I can see them.

      Like

      • I will indeed! I just listed a small one so far. (vintagepickle on etsy) but want to make sure the prices are fair in light of their value. Any feedback or suggestions are always appreciated. By the way, in my fulltime life, I run a vintage clothing costume rental house for the past 35 years and also collect just about everything!…so we are vintage sister travelers at heart (smile). I DO enjoy your other FuzzyLizzie site showing your collections., If you ever find yourself in NY you should come and visit our space. 6000 square feet of clothes from 1860 to 1970…and if you ever need any photos to augment your columns, I would be happy to oblige. By the way, I also have a blog where I sometimes write about the history of items ( like bathingsuits and hose for men and women)..so if interested, let me know where to send you the link!

        Like

  6. frances

    Hi, I have a Brooke cadwallader large framed square depicting all trains from 1800 through 1947 which I am interested in selling .please email with your. Intrrests.
    many thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

