My New Favorite from KEK

I really don’t believe in luck, but if I did I’d say this was one lucky find.  It came to me by way of  reader and fellow blogger, Jo of Joyatri.  She had seen my post about a KEK album I’d found, and emailed me to let me know she had this one.

She then sent photos, and I was so happy to see that it is in what is probably a print from the early 1960s.  I already had two items from this print, but in a different colorway.  This time we can see the entire print, including lots of graphic that are not on my other, smaller items.

I had always assumed that the hitchhiker in the left corner was a girl!

Cute jaywalking kitty-cat!

The suitcase strapped onto the side of the bottom car reads “Roma”.  I’d be smiling too if I were headed for Rome!

According to research done by friend Nathalie, KEK was a German maker of albums and such.  They might still be in business, but I can’t imagine that anything made by them today could possibly be this cool.

11 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Novelty Prints, Vintage Travel

11 responses to “My New Favorite from KEK

  1. What a wonderful graphic! (I wish that same print could be found on fabric yardage!) How nice of Jo to send you photos to share!

    Like this

  2. What a fun print! That hitchhiker looks like a total beatnik. Love it.

    Like this

  3. It’s adorable vintage prints like this that makes me want to try my hand at scanning the design and then having it printed up on fabric by Spoonflower.

    Like this

  4. This is very cool, indeed!

    Like this

  5. That is so cute!! And I agree with Jen O, seriously that as a fabric print!? I would love it!

    xoxo
    -Janey

    Like this

  6. I’m so glad the album has gone to a good home. I always loved the hitch-hiking Scotty dog and the Poodle on the convertible, but the kitty-cat is sweet, too.

    Like this

  7. Jackie

    yes very cool …for cats

    Like this

Leave a Reply

