Great Scots’ Apron

Here’s a proper band of kilt-wearers, all moving to the tune of the bagpiper.  Above them is a field of completely random luggage tags for places as diverse as Mexico, Japan, Los Angeles, and thankfully, Scotland.

It’s nice to think that there could be an entire series of this luggage tag print, with different nationalities featured as the border.   I picture Hawaiian Hula, Spanish Flamenco,   Irish Jig, though I’m at a loss when it comes to Los Angeles.

When I spotted this great print I thought it might be a skirt, but sorry to say, it was instead an apron.  Still I bought it as I’d never seen this print before and I loved it so much.  Here’s hoping there are others out there.

I’d appreciate some feedback on the watermarks, if you have a thought.

21 Comments

Filed under Novelty Prints

21 responses to “Great Scots’ Apron

  1. This is fabulous! I’m always one for wacky themes and novelty print! I too like the idea of an entire series…gosh, that would be wonderful!

    With regards to watermarks, you know I use them too, so of course I’m cool with it! I find that watermarks are important in the current trend of Twitter, Facebook, and now especially with Pintrest and Tumblr! Things are being shared every milisecond and it’s important to keep people informed of where the images come from. Just the other day I saw a girl who thought a photo that had Captain America (not the film version, just a guy in a costume) with military was real because she didn’t know the source until someone commented about it being part of an art project. Additionally, with all of the wonderful things you post, it would be nice to have people know that you have the item or know a good deal about a line, subject, etc. and that they could come to you if they have questions!

    Like this

    • I love your watermark, with the very appropriate symbol. So cute!

      And your point about the watermark helping people find me is a good one. It helps me to think of this as being a positive move, and not just a ploy to keep people from “stealing” my images. Thanks!

      Like this

  2. Men in kilts, I love it!
    I don’t mind watermarks either. It’s good to be able to trace a photo back to it’s source. If I watermark an item, I’m not trying to claim ownership or stop people from using it, I just want them to know how the photo ended up on line.
    Also, I run a website about the history on Strathmere NJ and I’ve watermarked most photos there. I’ve seen historical photos like the ones on my website copied and sold at local antique shops and shows. I don’t want someone making money off of the photos on the website. The photos were shared with me for use on the website only, not for someone to grab and profit from. As their caretaker, I want to protect them

    Like this

  3. Watermarks veddy veddy good!

    Like this

  4. I saw the watermarks and was going to comment, then saw your request. They look perfect. It doesn’t distract from the picture at all. Great job!

    Like this

  5. Hi… THe apron is a cute print for sure.
    I admit to being a novice at identifying vintage clothing….but how can you tell if something is really vintage or if it is a copy of an old print or new piece washed, sun bleached and aged to make it look vintage.??? I know with furniture, glass, etc…you can tell by joints, seams…etc. There are many fake vintage pieces…does the same go for clothes?
    When I go to Mary Jo’s Cloth in Dallas, NC (the largest cloth store in the east…to my knowledge) she has reproductions of old prints. I am just wondering….they do look bright spankin new. I know that YOU could tell vintage, Liz….but how could I. Any shortcut tips.?
    Are there tell tale signs when looking for vintage. I know some things are butcher linen, rayon, crepe, etc fabrics that are not made anymore…I know they would be vintage. Are there tips for beginners on “how to” or does it just take lots of experience.?

    Like this

    • Marge, the short answer is that there are times when I can’t even be sure. I posted last week on a beach print that I felt like was from the early 1960s, but I was not sure until I spotted a shirt with the same print but with a vintage tag and in the style of the early 60s.

      Vintage and “retro” styles are so popular that there are 100s of prints being made that mimic textiles of the 50s and 60s (and earlier). A lot of the time you can spot these because they are not dressmaking fabric – they are quilter’s cotton which uses a larger thread, and thus has a smaller thread count and is not as smooth. Sometimes the colors look too modern to be vintage.

      Like this

  6. Teresa

    Love the apron. The bagpipe players are adorable!

    Your watermarks are great although if you’re worried about people removing them I’d place them over areas that are harder to clone out and have the text as opaque. If that makes sense?

    Like this

    • It does make sense. I’m actually not terribly worried about people removing the watermark, though. I’ve noticed, especially on Pinterest, that lots of photos have watermarks. I suspect that most people use the “pin it” button on their toolbar to pin, rather than taking the time to save and alter them. Anyway, I’m hoping that is the case!

      Like this

  7. Cute apron! Love those little Scotsmen marching around the bottom. I had thought the border was stitched on separately but how lovely that the fabric was designed that way!

    The watermarks look great and have inspired me to start adding them in this format to my own photos. I actually prefer it when images are identified in this way as this makes it easier for me to credit the originator when I share. And, as Janey says, they can easily be taken out of context. Marking them in this way means that it’s always possible to access the source.

    If watermarking is too dominant, however, this really detracts from the image and it won’t be shared. And I think sharing is part of the general spreading of joy which is what most bloggers do, isn’t it?

    Some people will always exploit others work for their own profit and it is difficult to prevent this entirely. And I, for one, would be disappointed to see all the beautiful images online spoilt because some selfish, immoral company or character may or may not make an unauthorised copy now or in the future. Even in that case, it may still be possible to prevent further sales and I have been successful in doing this in the past.

    However, if it’s the case that an artist or photographer is selling their images then I think a more robust watermark is justified. This does mean that the buyer is then taking a risk though and this should be recognised by offering a refund if the customer is not totally happy with their purchase.

    Crikey that was way more than I intended to write – I shall get off what appears to be rapidly becoming my soapbox now and do some work! Thanks for raising an interesting issue Lizzie!

    Like this

    • I really do think that in a large way, the internet and the easy accessibility of great images makes some people lazy. How long does it take to add a link back to the source on a blog entry or on tumblr? It’s maddening!!

      Like this

  8. Lizzie, I love those bagpipers!

    The watermarks don’t bother me a bit…but I agree with Teresa that someone could still easily edit them out, if they so desired. (That’s the main problem with watermarks–that unless they are over the main image, they can usually be easily removed.)

    Like this

  9. Love the print and apron. As for the watermark, it looks great. Still working on getting mine going. I did see a substitute for the actual edited pic that I may try just to save time. Another shop owner places her business card in each pic for her shop and Facebook posts.

    Like this

  10. Christina

    Your watermarks will be easily deleted Lizzie. I would recommend placing your watermark in a less removable area. If you use a watermark part of it needs to be on the object/print detail. Opaque watermarks seem to work best and they are less visually distracting. A very washed out grey-white tint might work too. I find brighter coloured watermarks distracting.

    Like this

    • I agree that these can easily be deleted but I just can’t bring myself to put the watermark on the subject I’m showing. I hope to do a better job of editing my photos, keeping in mind that the place where I want to put the mark should vary in color or whatever to make it harder.

      Like this

      • Christina

        “Invisible watermarking” may be other way to go Lizzie and there are applications you can buy online. You can put out a statement that all your images are invisibly watermarked and will show up if copied. Maybe have a small symbol – IV- like the copyright symbol in a corner. I am no expert in this area. I’ll send you a link I’ve found online to look at.

        Like this

  11. Hey Lizzie, I think your watermark size and placement is fine–there for reference if needed, but not distracting.

    Like this

  12. The watermarks are great! I didn’t even notice them at first, which is what you really want. =)

    Like this

Leave a Reply

