Ad Campaign – Kodak Camera, 1923

Winter Calls Your Kodak

There’s a tang to the air and a zest to the occasion that give life and action to the pictures you make.   Winter prints contribute prized pages to your album.  And it’s all easy the Kodak way – and all fun.

By 1923, cameras were becoming a part of life, and people had gone from having their photo taken rarely to having the ability to document the important and fun things in their lives.   Still, it wasn’t like the ever-present digital camera of today.  I imagine she got her group shot, got into the sleigh and thought no more about photos for a while as she was having too much fun to think about the photos she was missing.

A new survey says that Facebook is hurting self-esteem.  Not surprised.

15 Comments

Filed under Ad Campaign, Vintage Photographs

15 responses to “Ad Campaign – Kodak Camera, 1923

  1. Interesting ad campaign. Today, it’s even gone farther from the digital camera. People are taking pictures on their cell phones! It’s crazy. It’s become so incredibly easy to document everything.

    Also- not at all surprised about the facebook article. Social media is taking over. Take a look at this video, it has a similar message: http://vimeo.com/70534716

    Love your blog!

    Xx Sarah
    http://www.ahitofsarah.net

    Like

  2. I am enjoying your development of this theme, Lizzie! It’s giving me pause every time I snap yet another new vegetable growing on my allotment. ;)

    Like

    • I think i almost have it out of my system!

      We are such visual creatures that it is no wonder that the camera appeals. And as a blogger, I know I have to take photos in order to get my point across. Thoughtful photos are good; it’s the incessant mindless snapping all around that drives one to a rant.

      Like

      • I agree. My son has been a chorister at Bath Abbey for several years. Learning to sing at that level requires real discipline from the choristers, and not a little discipline on the part of their parents too. I’ll explain. Photography is not allowed during services; as a doting parent, this has occasionally frustrated me (I’d love to have a picture of him singing a solo at a Christmas service, for instance) but this rule has forced me to be properly respectful of what is, after all, an act of worship, and to fully savour the moment of performance – which one can’t do when it is experienced through a lens.

        Like

  3. Yes, it can sometimes be very difficult to live *in* the moment when you are busy documenting it! But I will say that my smartphone camera has given me a new appreciation for some views I took for granted. When I’m walking around anywhere–but especially when I’m in our city’s downtown–I look around me a lot more closely at things, and I think I’m actually seeing much more than ever before.

    Having said that, I do think we all need to put our phones away and engage with each other more. Sometimes I feel like we’re all becoming encased in big bubbles, with our phones.

    Like

  4. A family member came to a small party at my home last week and looked at his phone about 75% of his visit. It’s horrible the way ppl are living these days. Heads down, checking emails, walking around talking to someone, snapping pics all over the place. I choose to just LIVE. Thank you for the reminder Lizzie.

    Like

  5. Very timely presentation for me. We were just discussing our cameras and their progression. As a child, a neighbor took pictures with a Brownie camera she held aaagainst her waist. My first was was an easy share with film. Next came a Polaroid which were popular then and provided instant results.

    I’m on my first digital. against

    Like

Leave a Reply

