Ad Campaign – Koret, 1942

Start a new year on the campus… with a new fashion in your hand! Sophisticated, practical bags, as versatile as a jeep, as flexible as 2-way stretch.

There is one for every hour of the day.  Designed by Koret who knows what you want almost before you do yourself.  Pack all your essentials in these style-wise, price-wise bags by Koret.

I’m not sure that these little clutches caught on.  I don’t recall seeing other ads from the early 1940s with them, and in spite of what the ad is trying to say, a hand-held bag is just not practical.   In many photos I’ve seen of young women and students during the war years, the women are using the much more practical shoulder bag.  You can’t blame Koret for trying, though.

Koret was established in 1929 by Richard Koret.  By the 1940s the company was a leader in the handbag industry.  In 1965 Richard Koret was killed in a plane crash, and the company was eventually acquired by Michael Gordon, who ran it until the late 1990s.  The Koret name was bought by a company in 2009, and Koret was relaunched in 2012.

Tomorrow I’ll be sharing the story of an extraordinary woman who placed a small part in the history of Koret.

6 Comments

Filed under Ad Campaign

6 responses to “Ad Campaign – Koret, 1942

  1. Are they a different company from the clothing company (Koret of California)?

    I love the artwork in this ad (those birds!). But yes, it’s hard to imagine a clutch being a versatile, convenient bag to carry around campus.

    Like this

  2. Just a short addition to my post:

    I spent a great deal of time yesterday looking for good, solid, information about Richard Koret and his company. On the internet I encountered one particular vague and poorly written paragraph several dozen times, in everything from blog posts to ebay listings to ads on Amazon. It is disheartening to see how much copying is occurring, and how little actual research.

    I never limit my searches to the internet, because to be honest, I’m not the best searcher, and I do have a prejudice toward good old fashioned books. After looking through all my handbag books, I went to the regular fashion ones. I’ve found over the years that there are some writers who can always be relied upon to supply what I need, and one of them is Bernice Chambers. In her 1947 book, Fashion Fundamentals, I finally found some solid information on the company.

    According to Chambers, Koret was a pioneering handbag firm that combined great design with quality craftsmanship. His bags were made not just for the US market, but were also exported to many other countries, even during the 1930s. During WWII he designed the bags for the women’s divisions of the military and for the Red Cross. And if you have ever found one of Koret’s soft suede bags, you might be interested to know that it was made of Koretelope, a special suede developed by the company that was designed not to “crock” or smudge off.

    Like this

  3. Thanks so much for this additional information, Lizzie! I searched my sold Etsy orders (works much better than my memory) and found I’d sold a Koret handbag three years ago. It had a really nifty oversize, twisty clasp closure. (Thanks, also, for the new word to add to my fashion vocabulary crock!)

    Like this

  4. Pingback: Koret Purses, Aris Gloves, 1934 | witness2fashion

Leave a Reply

