Ad Campaign – Panhard, 1932

My husband and I are planning a road trip, circa 1962.  His mother’s ’62 Plymouth, which was badly damaged by flooding from hurricanes Francis and Ivan a year and a half ago, is now being restored.  To celebrate its return to the road, we’re taking it on a road trip a’ la 1962. I’m working on wardrobes and luggage now.

I ran across this Art Deco classic ad in a 1932 L’illustration magazine .   Now that would be a car to build a wardrobe around, with long, lean, sleek lines, in sharply contrasting black and white (with just a touch of red).   Maybe a smartly tailored suit of the finest French tweed, trimmed in velvet for day, and a long, black velvet gown for dinner and dancing.

But I guess I’ll have to be content with my 1960s pedal pushers, cute overblouses and Keds for day, and little black dresses for evening.   Too bad gas is still not 29 cents!

Comments:

Posted by Chris:

I hope you share pictures of your trip!;)

Sunday, February 12th 2006 @ 3:11 PM

Posted by Lizzie Bramlett:

Oh course I will! I’ll try to get pictures of the car up as soon as we get it home.

Sunday, February 12th 2006 @ 4:33 PM

Posted by Olivier:

The illustrator is Alex Kow, a white russian who worked a lot for car and particulary for Panhard.

Friday, June 12th 2009 @ 5:16 PM

Posted by Lizzie:

Olivier,
Thanks so much for that information. Lizzie

Friday, June 12th 2009 @ 5:52 PM

Leave a comment

Filed under Road Trip, Vintage Travel

Leave a Reply

