Don’t go into the water barefoot!

 

For some time I’ve been looking for some bathing shoes to go with some of my older bathing suits, and last weekend I found a really nice pair.  Even as late as the 1930s, a bather might wear shoes into the water, and in the early days of bathing, it was expected.  Of course, so were stockings.

I bought these to go with a suit I have that is dated 1911, so I was really happy to hear from shoe expert Jonathan Walford that these dates 1905-1915.  Before that time and the shape would have been different; after 1915 or so, they would most likely have rubber soles.  These are all canvas. To see the bathing suit, see my feature on bathing suits .

Leave a comment

Filed under Proper Clothing, Shoes, Summer Sports

Leave a Reply

