1940 Trip Diary

Sometimes you just get lucky.  I found this little gem on eBay for a terribly reasonable price, and even though I have more journals and blank books than I can make use of, I had to have this one.   The seller just showed the cover, and I bought the little book just on the strenght of that great graphic.

The inside pages are just charming, with places for when, where, what and how, much like some travel diaries today have it all laid out.  There was a time when this would have irritated me, as I don’t like having to conform to someone else’s idea of organization.  But then I met Muriel Foster.

Well, met, is not the right word, because I’ve only seen a reproduction of the diary she kept from 1913 -1949.  What makes her diary so special was that it was a fishing diary, with spaces for when, where, what and how.  But Muriel wasn’t one to be limited by little boxes.  She filled in the blanks she wished, and decorated the empty spaces between.  From 1915:

It justs makes me see the possibilities for these pages:

Leave a comment

Filed under Vintage Travel

Leave a Reply

