Getting the Word Out

I”m going to be repeating myself here, so if you are a regular reader, you might just want to look at the pictures.

If you are building a collection, one of the most valuable things you can do is to let people you know what it is you are collecting.  Who knows what your Great-Aunt Madge has in all those boxes in the top of her closet?

And this is not just for your family and friends, but also for people you hang out with on-line.  I love places like the VFG forum, because it gives me a chance to talk about what I love with those who understand.  It also gives me a chance to spread the word about my collection of 20th century sportswear.

Fortunately for me, Amanda in Vermont has been paying attention, because I got the most wonderful package from her in today’s mail.  It contained, not one, but TWO 1910s hiking skirts.  Very Out of Africa, don’t you think?  The skirts are not in perfect condition, but that means they were worn and enjoyed.  I can only imagine the rambles these skirts went on with their lady adventurer owner!

Comments:

Posted by Shay:

I am going to have to copy those pockets 😉 they are amazing. And this skirt could be worn today; somethings remain timeless.

Thursday, December 18th 2008 @ 10:30 PM

Posted by Lizzie:

Shay, it would be an easy garment to copy. The skirt is just a front-buttoning a-line with no waistband. The top of the pockets form the belt loops for the 3″ wide belt. I have a tennis skirt from the same era with similar pockets, but they aren’t as large and wonderful!

Friday, December 19th 2008 @ 4:26 PM

Posted by Celia Pleete:

Oh my goodness, I love these skirts! The 1910s, I think, was the best fashion era. Right lengths, interesting arrangement of buttons…great find!

Friday, December 19th 2008 @ 5:09 PM

1 Comment

Filed under Camping and Hiking, Collecting, Vintage Clothing

One response to “Getting the Word Out

  1. Em

    Fantastic! I love the look of this skirt and agree it could be worn today. The pockets are incredible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

