White Stag, Mid 1950s

I’ve always been a big fan of vintage White Stag, but lately I’ve come to realize that the label is my new favorite.  The ad above is from 1955 and I just love all the clothes.  Sportswear just does not get any better, or more wearable.  Part of the reason I’ve had this on my mind is because of these capris:

Yes, these are the same pants in the ad, just in the dotted pattern.  There really is no better resource for dating an item than the original advertising.  And as much as I love the capris, I love the ad itself just as much.  THe drawings are just so 1955 perfect.  Here are a few more, these from 1957:

White Stag started out in 1906 as a maker of canvas tents and sails, and was originally called the Willamette Tent and Awning Company. This name was changed to Hirsch-Weiss Canvas Products, and the company began making rain-proof coats and other outdoor wear.   By the late 20s they were producing ski clothing, and then branched out into other sportswear.

Canvas clothing was a specialty, as you can see from the ads.  This was a high quality canvas, and my 54 year old capris look as fresh today as they did five decades ago.  The hard wearing canvas is good for collectors today – most of the White Stag items in my collection look almost new.  Add that to the classic sportswear styling, and even the most finicky of thrift shops will put vintage White Stag on their sales floor.

I’m in the process of researching the company for an article, and I’d really love to hear from you Portland-ites and others who have vintage memories of White Stag.  So please drop me an email or post a comment telling your favorite story concerning White Stag.

Two more from my collection.  It’s all in the details:

Comments:

Posted by Gail:

I don’t have any historical stories about White Stag, but in the 50’s and early 60’s when I was growing up, we always bragged if our new shorts or jacket had the White Stag label. That brand epitomized sportswear for us.

Tuesday, August 25th 2009 @ 11:04 AM

Posted by Lucitebox:

My favorite Spring jacket is a White Stag. Oh, how I love it. It’s a nylon windbreaker style that’s very plain and cut sort of like a classic James Dean jacket. Except, it’s bright orange. The back is a stretchy nylon poly fabric that’s striped orange and navy. That striping is also on the back of the sleeves. From the front–plain orange basic cropped hip length jacket. From the back–bold stripes. The ultimate in bicycling jackets for early Spring and Fall!

I have a White Stag on my site that’s NWOT. I’d keep it if it wasn’t orange. (I don’t know how many orange jackets a person needs.)

Can’t wait to read what your research yields. I love this company, too. Classic.

Thursday, August 27th 2009 @ 3:43 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Holly, it really does just take one well crafted garment to make one fall in love with a label, does it not?!

Thursday, August 27th 2009 @ 5:20 AM

Posted by lucitebox:

Absolutely. Conversely, all I need to do is buy one skirt for $70 at Anthropologie, wash it, and the hem falls out and I’m suspect of anything in the store.

Thursday, August 27th 2009 @ 8:21 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Yes, I understand that one too, unfortunately. I’m to the point where I either buy vintage or I make it myself.

Saturday, August 29th 2009 @ 4:16 PM

Posted by keenan:

these are adorable 🙂 i want all of them…;)

Sunday, September 27th 2009 @ 4:09 AM

1 Comment

Filed under Advertisements, Collecting, Sportswear, Vintage Clothing

One response to “White Stag, Mid 1950s

  1. Pingback: 1970s StagWhites Tennis Dress by White Stag | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a Reply

