Picasso for White Stag

I’m still working on gathering info on White Stag, and to make it even more interesting I got an email from a researcher at a museum who had seen my Picasso for White Stag label on the VFG Label Resource.  This museum has a blouse in the same print as my rain jacket, though their label is dated 1962 and mine is dated 1963.

According to some ads I have from 1963,  White Stag secured the exclusive right to reproduce some of Picasso’s work.  There were at least four designs, and I’m assuming more than that.  My jacket is like the parka in the last ad with a different print.

The museum is currently researching the line, about which I’ve been able to discover practically nothing.    So if any of you knowledgable readers have any information to share, I’ll be glad to pass it on to the museum.

Comments:

Posted by Karen/SmallEarthVintage:

Now THAT is cool! How wild.

Saturday, September 19th 2009 @ 8:39 PM

Posted by Hollis:

Great story, great prints and what an innovative thing for White Stag to have done

Sunday, September 20th 2009 @ 8:02 AM

Posted by Joules:

What an unlikely and unexpected pairing! I had not been aware of this marvelous mix.

Friday, September 25th 2009 @ 7:52 AM

Posted by June:

I love it!!

Friday, November 6th 2009 @ 8:53 PM

Posted by dawn:

that is so cool!!!! thanks for sharing! the hunt is on!

Sunday, November 8th 2009 @ 8:33 PM

Posted by The Red Velvet Shoe:

I’ve always seen “White Stag” and thought “yuck, Walmart”. I had no idea the label dated back far before the monster~store took over the planet! I’ll have to pay more attn to the labels now!

Wednesday, November 3rd 2010 @ 4:33 AM

6 Comments

Filed under Advertisements, Collecting, Sportswear, Vintage Clothing

6 responses to “Picasso for White Stag

  1. Pingback: Picasso for White Stag, Part II « thevintagetraveler

  2. Pingback: Picasso Fabric « thevintagetraveler

  3. After years of researching the topic on the Internet, I’d given up on the idea of ever finding anything about Picasso’s licensing deal with White Stag until a friend pointed out your blog to me this very day. I own a piece from that collection, a 1963 purple and green ski jacket with fake fur around the hood, which I found at a thrift shop in Portland, OR in the mid-90’s. A few years back I contacted a Picasso historian at a Madrid museum but never got a response so I am quite pleased to see that other people have had the same questions -and have actually been able to find some answers. I’m not sure how to post photos on your blog but if you’re interested I’d be happy to share them. Incidentally, I did come across another Picasso White Stag item, a men’s short sleeve shirt, at a vintage clothing store in Portland, also sometime in the 90’s, but decided not to buy it, which I’ve regretted ever since.

    Like

  4. Dana Rose

    I hope this adds. First time I left anything. I saw this because I was looking up White Stag stuff. My dad used to work there, and my mom had at least one of these Picasso dresses, I think it was black and white, and I brought it to school for show and tell in the 5th grade, (though that was 1969, and it had to be earlier. I do not know if she sent her dress to her mom for safekeeping, if she didn’t it is long gone to some thrift store.
    I am also interested in White Stag because I want to write a book and screenplay. If any one lives in Oregon, they can have free access to archives of newspaper articles and stuff from the Multnomah library system, and I think it works online, or maybe not –maybe you have to go in person, If I could afford to, I would go for research.

    Like

Leave a Reply

