Cocktail Time by Martex

I love finding vintage Martex linen towels because they have a real following among people who know a good towel.  They are the easiest thing in the world to sell because so many people search them out.  The fabric is quick drying, and the designs are always top notch.

Well, add me to the list of Martex fans.  I recently found the one above, and another pictured below.  I just fell in love with the sleek modern look of them.  In a time when most cocktail linens were tacky and snickery – drunks leaning on lampposts, pink elephants in champagne glasses – the simple design must have appealed to those with modern sensibilities.

Cheers!

Coments:

Posted by Lucitebox:

I shouldn’t even come to this blog! You make me want to find these things, too. LOVE the black towel. Want it. Need it. I love cocktail themed items. Cool finds, Lizzie!

Wednesday, September 30th 2009 @ 3:47 PM

Posted by Lizzie:

Holly, it’s a good thing we are far enough away that we don’t go to the same sales and get into hair-pulling fights over the good stuff!!

Wednesday, September 30th 2009 @ 4:58 PM

Posted by Mod Betty / Retro Roadmap:

OOh I love seeing the other designs and colors- I have one of these, you can see it on my flickr page.

I can’t bear to use it, I just admire it!:)

Wednesday, September 30th 2009 @ 8:17 PM

Posted by Joules:

I have always thought Martex towels to be pretty much unsurpassed in quality. Those are both super! I also love Startex towels.

Saturday, October 3rd 2009 @ 10:54 AM

2 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Curiosities

2 responses to “Cocktail Time by Martex

  1. Betty

    What great finds. You have given me many ideas here of things to research. I love design and history and having new (old) items to research, new rabbit trails to follow. I forgot about Martex. Looking this up should be a party for my eyes. LOVE your blog. So glad to have found it. Betty

    Like

  2. Pingback: From Towel to Dress | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a Reply

