Sometimes You Just Get Lucky!

I’m talking about luck of the very best kind; the kind where you pluck the perfect vintage item from the bins of the last-chance thrift store.  And last week, I found the vintage 1940s sweater of my dreams:

I’ve written a lot about the clearance center, mainly because I keep finding great stuff there.  Most of the stuff never makes it to the thrift store floor and I’m astounded by the wonderful things that are not considered good enough for the store.  But, no complaints, as I’ve added some super things to my collection.

I have a few rules about shopping there, and the big one is not to look at what other people are finding.  Most of the other shoppers are not looking for vintage, but there are several people who shop there regularly who are vintage sellers.  Last week I broke my rule, not because I wanted to, but because one has to look up occasionally, and when I looked up there was a local vintage shop owner holding up a honey of a 1950s party dress, sizing it up.

My mental “Put it back in the bin,” did not work, but as soon as he moved away from that bin, I made a bee-line toward it.  That’s because so often, if there is one vintage item, there will be a bunch.  And sure enough, right next to where he found the dress, I found the dream sweater.

It’s made from wool in black and red, and has that distinctive two-tone knit one sees with 1940s sweaters.  (This technique was also used in the 70s, but those are always acrylic).  I got it home, carefully handwashed it, and sure enough, it was a perfect fit.  I was destined to find that sweater!

Vintage cards are from my personal collection.

Comments:

Posted by carrie:

A great story about a great sweater, Lizzie! Congrats! I’m not really a dog person at all, but 40s Scottie stuff makes me weak in the knees… (Your greeting cards are fab, too!)

Sunday, December 6th 2009 @ 11:17 AM

Posted by Audrey:

That’s a darling sweater!

If I had a dime for every time I nailed someone with a “put it back!” look at a thrift store, well, I could probably afford to stop shopping at thrift stores!

…not that it would stop me 🙂

Sunday, December 6th 2009 @ 4:28 PM

Posted by Louise:

What a fabulous find! It’s such a darling little sweater. I love the thought of you ‘mentally’ telling people to put things back into the bin. hehehe! Love your Christmas cards too. Well done.

Monday, December 7th 2009 @ 1:27 AM

Posted by Jennie:

Love the sweater and the vintage card at the top of the post! I’m a sucker for the scottie dog!

Tuesday, December 8th 2009 @ 10:10 AM


1 Comment

Filed under Collecting, Shopping, Vintage Clothing

One response to “Sometimes You Just Get Lucky!

  1. Pingback: B.F. Goodrich Velvet Shoe Twins | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a Reply

