Picasso for White Stag, and Thoughts on Social Media







Photo courtesy and copyright of Mary Scanlon


One of my online contacts and a fellow Vera collector is considering giving up his blog and putting all his content on Twitter, flickr and tumblr. He sites a lack of conversation on the blog, something that is certainly not lacking at twitter, and something that is so important to bloggers.  So is the conventional blog becoming obsolete?

I’ve noticed a bit of a drop in comments on this blog as well, and I know that it is partly that people are responding to me on flickr.   But give up The Vintage Traveler?  I can’t imagine!

I’d be too afraid that people like Mary Scanlon would never find me.  Mary sent the above photo of a 1963 White Stag top after reading one of the posts I’ve made on the venture.  Here and Here

Here’s what Mary had to say about this fab piece:

“My mother bought this top in 1963, probably at Levy’s department store in Tucson (Arizona), along with a pair of black stirrup pants. She remembers them as being ‘rather expensive.’ I was fascinated by this top from the time I was very small. The drawings looked so whimsical and appealing, as if a child had done them. When I was in high school I absconded with it and wore it frequently until I was in my twenties. At a certain point I realized it might be somewhat unusual, even rare. So I packed it carefully away. It’s still in reasonably good shape, albeit with a loose neckline seam as you can see. As I’m writing this I realize it has a drawstring sewn into the lower hem; I don’t believe I ever noticed that before. I have periodically searched for this piece online over the years, to see if I could learn more about it. Only now, as I’ve found your blog and a couple of other websites, have I been able to learn something of its history. I had actually hoped to find another shirt like this to BUY at some point, but I see now that may not be in the cards! “

So therein lies the power of the blog.  It’s such a good way for people with common interests to find you.  It’s here, it’s on google, and people can find you.

I use Twitter, mainly because I find so many interesting things that I just don’t have time to look for myself.  It’s great for sharing links, not so good for sharing concepts.  And it’s here now, gone in an hour!

I know some people who do use flickr like a blog and it works very well for them.  I put some photos there, but it’s too limiting for me.  I don’t want to up-load other people’s photos there where it is often a big photo-free-for-all.

I know that internet communication is constantly evolving, that today’s hot site quickly becomes a faded memory (Myspace, anyone?)  But until some smart 20-something comes up with a better alternative to blogging, I’ll be right here.

PS:  Mary’s White Stag Picasso print top was featured in the August 16, 1963 issue of Life magazine in a feature on college fashions.

Comments:

Posted by Scott:

You make some really great points, Lizzy. Your observation about the constantly evolving nature of online communication is particularly important, in my eyes. Who knows what Flickr/Tumblr/Twitter is going to look like in a year? Not me, for certain! The one great thing about running Ars Longa is that I have control over the format … and that is something I’d definitely like to preserve. Now only if I could find a way to reach out and bring more folks into the fold, get them interested, and build some sort of meaningful conversation. That seems to really be the tricky part. 

I really appreciate your thoughtful words. Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

Wednesday, October 27th 2010 @ 8:45 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Scott, You are most welcome. It was a bit ironic that you made that post about considering giving up Ars Longa when I had just read my email from Mary. This post practically wrote itself! 

Wednesday, October 27th 2010 @ 8:52 AM

Posted by tom tuttle from tacoma:

you’re spot on. remember i mentioned i never got caught up in the facebook craze? guess what? i’m a convert. it’s twitter that i still don’t get. but maybe i’ll change my mind later? lol. 

i believe it’s synchronising your blog with the other social media tools that’s the trend now (i mean, i noticed it only recently). as a reader, i have become less participatory in posting comments. when i feel i wish to say something but can’t think of something fruitful, i do the ‘like’ thing on facebook. facebook is like twitter for me. i prefer the visuals, they help to ‘anchor’ stories for me, whether i’m a reader or a blogger/twitterer/facebooker. i can imagine flikr works for people who photo-blog mostly.

Wednesday, October 27th 2010 @ 9:09 AM

Posted by Karen/Small Earth Vintage:

Oh, that top is amazing! 

I am glad you are not planning to give up the blog. I follow a lot of vintage blogs and one thing I’ve noticed recently is that nearly all of them (many with fewer followers than my own small blog) have started adding ads and are becoming vehicles for giveaways and promotion. I have no problem with that (I promote my own offerings on my blog), but the lack of other content makes for much less interesting reading. Your blog is one of the few I follow where I always find something new-to-me and fascinating!

Thursday, October 28th 2010 @ 8:44 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Karen, I really do agree about what is happening to so many blogs. I don’t blame people at all for trying to make money off something that is actually work, and by the looks of the ads on some blogs, there are some people who are making a pretty penny from monetizing. But I decided some time back to never accept any ads. I want to be able to post here without considering whether or not I’m pissing off the advertisers. Not that other bloggers are self-censuring, but I can’t help but notice that many fashion and vintage bloggers spend a lot of their posting on directing attention to the folks in the sidebar. 

And I don’t mind people promoting their own stuff, as long as that is not the extent of the blog. Who wants to read something that is nothing but an advertisement? I like a mix of content.

and I sure do appreciate your kind words!

TTFT, that’s funny about facebook. I used to say the exact thing about twitter, but I actually like it and get lots of good info from people’s posts. There again, though, I can’t be twitter friends with someone who tweets nothing except what is in their online store.

Friday, October 29th 2010 @ 8:48 AM

Posted by Valerie Chapman-Stockwell:

I vote for the blog to continue (all blogs, for that matter). It’s like reading letters from friends. I respond when I think I have something to contribute, otherwise, just enjoy. And appreciate the people taking the time to create the blog. 

Thursday, November 11th 2010 @ 5:53 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Valerie, thanks for taking the time to post. I like your analogy of blogs being like letters. 

Thursday, November 11th 2010 @ 4:31 PM

Posted by Jen O:

OMG, this post comes at the right time for me!
I too have noticed the ‘quiet’ scene when it comes to comments on my blog posts, but on the other hand, my Google analytics show that my blog’s ‘hits’ have increased by 5x in the past year.
I believe that we should power on with great content, as readers are finding good info on our blogs, and they are still dropping by in increasing numbers to see what’s up. 

One reason for the lack of comments might be that our blogs are being seen on hand held screens, rather than big ol’monitors. These smaller devices are cropping and narrowing their field of vision, and THAT is something we bloggers won’t be able to ignore for long. Reply’s have to be sent as text, which makes the viewer think twice, or at least that’s my take on it.
So, power on! I love what you have to say.

Sunday, November 14th 2010 @ 9:17 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Jen, that is an excellent point, one I’d not considered. Probably because I don’t use a hand held device of any sort. 

I had naturally assumed that as my readership rose, so would the commenting, and I do get more comments, but they are not proportional to the increase in traffic.

And you are right that good content is the key to people finding you.

Friday, November 19th 2010 @ 7:11 PM

 

2 Comments

Filed under Curiosities, Sportswear, Viewpoint

2 responses to “Picasso for White Stag, and Thoughts on Social Media

  1. Pingback: Picasso Fabric « thevintagetraveler

  2. Pingback: Getting Up to Speed | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a Reply

