Traveling Light – The Shortrip

The year is 1951, and if I’m counting correctly, this fashionable woman is getting ready to put her 6 suitcases in the trunk of that ’51 Packard.  And by the looks of it, there is room and to spare.  I’m not sure when the idea of packing light came into vogue, but it wasn’t something this lady would have ever considered.

So I was a bit taken aback when I found a sweet little 1950s suitcase called a “Shortrip.” I’m the Queen of Light Packers, and even I couldn’t do an overnighter in a 10″ X 12″ case.  My husband and I take vintage luggage on road trips, and he keeps bugging me to take the Shortrip, but it hasn’t happened yet.

It has occurred to me that this HAS to be a man’s bag, so maybe Tim would like to put a change of underwear and a clean pair of socks in it the next time we hit the road.  He may even have space for his toothbrush and a trial size toothpaste.  But I doubt he will, and my little Shortrip will remain a virgin bag.  That’s right – never been used, and clean as a whistle.  And bound to stay that way.

 

Comments:

Posted by Dr. Joseph Portland:

That’s a vintage suitcase you got there. Bet it has a very high value now. 

Tuesday, January 20th 2009 @ 6:50 AM

Posted by Jan:

It reminds me of the little bag Grace Kelly pulls her nightgown and slippers out of in Rear Window. Lovely, but yes, not very practical 🙂 

Wednesday, November 17th 2010 @ 11:51 AM

Posted by KeLLy Ann:

I audibly sighed! What a lovely piece that is…I have the train case that my grandmother was given by my grandfather on their honeymoon, but it’s no where as good a shape. 

Wednesday, November 17th 2010 @ 5:50 PM

Posted by tom tuttle from tacoma:

love such luggage. i gotta agree with Jan on the practicality. 

Thursday, November 18th 2010 @ 12:38 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Agreed, not very practical, with all the stuff I like to lug around. But I’m thinking it might work for an over-nighter. The big problem is that my flannel pjs take up much more space than Grace’s nightgown! 

Thursday, November 18th 2010 @ 6:38 AM

Posted by Gina Americana:

I love this slightly disdainful comment in your post: “I’m not sure when the idea of packing light came into vogue” Me neither! 

Thursday, November 18th 2010 @ 8:53 AM

Posted by Jen:

Oh…not practical, now, but just a beautiful thing. Might be good for overnighting at the hospital, but that’s about it! 

Sunday, November 21st 2010 @ 11:02 AM

7 Comments

Filed under Curiosities, Road Trip

7 responses to “Traveling Light – The Shortrip

  1. Anna

    I moved into a house built in the 1940’s and I found a shortrip suitecase in the attic, I was not sure what it was until I dusted it off… it even has the keys, both of them… its in good condition, looks like a piece is missing… annagimm86@gmail.com

    Like

  2. Crystal

    I have a Shortrip for sale on eBay that has 2 separate sections – one for cosmetics and one for clothing. It’s in great condition AND has the key! Check it out!

    Like

  3. Anita Kuck

    Came across the very same case. It belong to my late Aunt. My dad wants to put in a yard sale, but I have a love for old things. Just had to check out some history for this lovely item. Did you find the value of this. Thought about giving to my grandson.

    Like

  4. Betsy

    These wonderful little bags are listed in both eBay and Etsy anywhere from $65 (pretty beat up) to $600 (absolutely perfect with all accessories). If you can find a clean, relatively unused one, particularly the “two story” models), expect to pay around $150-$175. Colored ones are very popular these days; I found a beautiful green one last week and the seller also had a bright red one.
    Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

