Ice Skating Weather


We awoke to a dusting of snow, so I felt it was time for a winter sports post.  The only winter sport I really know anything about (firsthand, that is) is sledding.  We have plenty of high hills that made for some pretty fine sledding when I was a kid.  But skating was out of the question.  First of all, we have few natural lakes and ponds, and secondly, the ones we do have rarely freeze to the point where one could safely skate upon them.

This advertisement folder is from the Quality Shoe Store in High Point, North Carolina.  That area of the state has lots of ponds, but the weather there is even warmer than it is here.  So why is a picture of people skating being  used in an ad for shoes in an area where probably 99% of the population had never had on a pair of ice skates?  I suppose the answer is for the same reason people in the South sing White Christmas, when the likelihood of that happening is pretty darn slim!  (Well, except for last year, when it snowed on December 18th and then stuck around for a month.  People here probably won’t be singing Let it Snow this year!)

I may not know a thing about ice skating, but I DO know a great outfit when I see one.  The hat and scarf remind me of a super Sonia Delauney set that The Way We Wore has for sale. I’d strap on skates any day in order to have and wear that great ensemble.

Just don’t let me actually get on the ice!

Comments:

Posted by Gina Americana:

It’s cold and we have much more than a dusting of snow here in Sweden (+ nightfall @ 3pm). But the snow & darkness make everything quiet, calm & beautiful! The Scandinavians have a saying: “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothes.” You could probably spot one of our vintage girls here in an outfit just like that, out ice skating in our winter wonderland. 

Thursday, December 2nd 2010 @ 1:44 AM

Posted by Karen/SmallEarthVintage:

I actually live on a lake that is quite skate-able through most of the winter–but I am a disaster on ice skates! (I’m more of a cross country skiier.) Love the outfit on the girl in the ad. There must be cute outfits for vintage cross country skiiers, too, right? 

Thursday, December 2nd 2010 @ 7:03 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

Gina, you’re a southern girl, right? I hope you strap on the skates and get out there with them on the ice! 

Karen, I’ve got some cards from the 30s showing skiers in cute, colorful outfits. I’ll have to post them to give you some ideas!

Friday, December 3rd 2010 @ 6:31 AM


Leave a comment

Filed under Advertisements, Winter Sports

Leave a Reply

