Glamour, March, 1957

I’m always pushing things I like on you , so today I thought for a change I’d show a cover that just does not work for me.  To start with, I’m not a fan of pink, and this shot is pink if nothing else: pink clothes, pink scarf, pink flowers, pink background.  But what really puzzles me is the strong lip color that clashes with the pink of the carnations.   The lips look rather fake.

Maybe I’m letting my prejudice against pink affect my opinion.  Maybe the printing process or the passage of time has led to an unfortunate color change.  Maybe I’m just wrong!

Anyway, I wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed my own blog this week, not because of my writing, but because of all the thought-provoking and insightful comments from all of you.  I hate it when I feel like I’m talking to myself here, but this week the blog has really felt like a group conversation, and for that I’m very grateful.  Your comments and feedback are always appreciated.  And even if you don’t have time to comment, or can’t think of anything to say, you can make me feel loved by pressing the  Like button that is located below each post, or by sending the post off to Twitter, Facebook or Google+.

Photographer: Sante Forlano
Model:  Millie Perkins
Copyright: Condé Nast

23 Comments

Filed under Too Marvelous for Words, Viewpoint

23 responses to “Glamour, March, 1957

  1. If the cover weren’t so old, I’d say it looked photo-shopped. I agree, strange color combination.

    Like

  2. And what is that white loopy thing she is leaning on? Is it part of a chair? If so, why are there flowers placed through it? Now that you called our attention to it, it does seem like a very odd cover.

    Like

  3. Obviously none of you are old enough to remember, but in 1957 there were two shades of lipstick: red with an orange caste and red with a blue caste. Pinks and pales, frosteds, caramels and lip glosses came later, not until around 1960. I was 15 in 1957 and considered too young to wear “real” lipstick so wore Tangee from Woolworth’s that stained your lips a kind of greasy strawberry and smelled like suntan lotion. So, yes, odd by today’s standards but not so by those of the time.

    Like

    • That’s funny! All I remember about lipstick from the 1950s was that it was red. It think my mother’s had a blue caste, now that you mention it.

      I do remember Tangee from the mid 60s. We liked it because it was cheap. Looks that that marvelous supplier of all things nostalgic, the Vermont Country Store, still carries it. http://www.tangee.com/

      And it is good to be reminded to go by what was the standard of the day, and not our modern one.

      Like

    • I was looking through this magazine this morning to see that “What to Wear with What” feature, and you were so right. Each color is matched with lipsticks, and in every case the choice is between red and red.

      The model is wearing “Rose Capri” from Frances Denney.

      Like

  4. Try as I might, I can never wear a strong lip color. It doesn’t work. *sigh*

    Like

  5. I like Tangee. It comes out a perfect shade of pink for me, as billed. But I wonder if there is a rare Tangee gene that I carry, because my 84-year-old mother has fond memories of Tangee too. That said, I do know that *most* people get some odd orangey color. I will say that it does have a strong smell that I can’t always take. As for the above magazine cover? Her face looks like a Barbie doll. Kind of plasticky. I think it’s the eyes that bother me most. Poor lady. I hope SHE isn’t one of your faithful blog readers! Or her daughter 😉

    Like

  6. I agree Lizzie, not the greatest Glamour cover.
    I had a boyfriend named Calvin, with a cat named Tangee. He was related to Elvis; a cousin, not sure what degree, on his Daddy’s side. There was definitely a resemblance, and the family hailed from Tupelo, so there you have it.

    Like

  7. I like that you’ve chosen a cover you’re not too keen on. It’s not the pink that bothers me, its the “What to Wear with What” teaser – mags still do it and it’s like nails on a blackboard to me – hehee! xo

    Like

  8. I agree- too much pepto pink! I like the lip color, but it does clash with the rest of the coloring. Interesting to read the comment on 50s lipstick!

    Like

  9. I agree completely Lizzie. The cover doesn’t really work. It’s like they used a ‘newby’ stylist (did they have stylists then?) and just left them to it! Either that or they were short on time. The neck scarf and booch have been put together in a rather haphazard manner.

    After saying that, she’s a pretty girl and looks much better than I do at 8am this morning!!! 😉

    Like

    • I’ve been going through my Glamour, Mademoiselle and Charm magazine collection from the 1940s through the 70s so I’ve been really looking at the covers. It seems that in the late 50s the editors were looking for a more natural look in the styling, and that might explain the wind-swept look of the hair and scarf, and the haphazard placement of the flowers.

      And yes, she is very pretty, and I love the way they did her eyes. I looked in the credits to see if it gave her name; she is Millie Perkins. It was her first cover.

      Like

  10. My goodness…Lizzie, you created quite a stirr with your cover comments. I LIKE pink…think the scarf is perfect…hate her lip color and why isn’t it PINK?…..Don’t like her hair either….would have used different flowers in that boquet….and how about that chair which shows in the right hand corner…(what’s it for?). Although the model is very pretty, I would have had her show more expression. And there you have it from the “gallery” (back home we used to be called “sidewalk engineers”). smile

    Like

  11. The composition is very strange as well! I don’t mind the soft colours that much, but with the lipstick and strange pose it really doesn’t work. Would love to look inside though!

    Like

  12. I’m not wild about pink either, Lizzie…but what bothers me about this cover is that her face looks like a mask, It’s a strange pose.

    Your blog gets great comments because *you* write such a thought-provoking blog!

    Like

  13. I AM a fan of pink – in fact, it’s probably my favorite color. But, those pink carnations ruin the cover for me. How much better it would look with white flowers, maybe daisies even! I don’t mind the red lipstick – it’s very typical fifties…

    Like

  14. Fashion Witness

    What a great conversation! Two thoughts: (1) On my screen, the carnations have a slightly orange cast — in which case, they are on the chair to try to tie that orange-y lipstick (remember Persian Melon, anyone?) to the cool pinks. Evidently, It didn’t work very well. And (2) I was shocked to see how old that makeup made teenaged Millie Perkins look. This cover photo was taken 2 years before she starred in The Diary of Anne Frank! I knew a young pianist who attended the Professional Children’s School in New York in the 60s. He couldn’t get over sitting in class next to so many fashion models — teenagers, like him. He had a theory that the huge amount of makeup on cover girls was so aging that magazines had to start with a 16 year old face to create a model who looked 25; he thought the makeup would have made a 25-year-old model look forty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

