Vintage Miscellany – April 14, 2013

I’m not fooled by this young woman.  There is no way she intended to take a ride on that bicycle wearing that frilly frock.  No, I’m afraid she is a poseur.

*   Get a small peek at the great Jeanne Lanvin at work in this film clip at FashionTube.

*   Can you remember when Bloomies was the coolest store in New York?  Get a reminder from 60 Minutes.

*   The story of Elizabeth Keckley and Mary Lincoln is not a simple one.  Read about the former slave who was dressmaker to the president’s wife.

*   Michael Kors  once told a Project Runway contestant that the name of the show was not Project Seamstress.  His point was well taken, but now we actually do have a show that features sewing skill.  The BBC brings us The Great British Sewing Bee, and it appears to be gaining momentum in the UK.  And luckily for everyone else in the world, the episodes are on YouTube.  There are only eight contestants, with four shows total, and the run is halfway through.  See episode 1 and episode 2 and pray the other two are available.  High point: Savile Row tailor Patrick Grant is one of the judges.

*   Target will be doing a limited release of 17 scarves based on designs of Vera Neumann.  Starting April 28, and costing $19.95.  I’m glad that the Vera name will be given a mainstream fashion audience, but I hope the scarves will be clearly marked.

*   Caerlee Mills, one of the last of the great Scottish cashmere mills is in liquidation administration.  Beca Lipscombe explains why this is such bad news, both culturally and economically.

*   Art for breakfast.

*   The latest fashion movie explores the world that is Bergdorf Goodman.  Limited release on May 3, 2013.  I have a feeling they won’t be showing this one at the Smoky Mountain cinema…

*   There is an interesting exhibition in Paris  of fashion photos that were taken for copyright purposes.  1931, Face-Dos-Profil shows the couture of 1931 in three views as a way of fighting fashion piracy.  At the  Galerie du Crédit Municipal de Paris through July 6, 2013.

*  I want to thank Brooke at CustomStyle,  Kirsty Michelle at Central Station, Karen at Fifty Dresses, and Kate at MasonBentleyStyle for bestowing blogging award honors upon me last week.  I’m really, really bad at passing awards on, mainly because I’m so bad at choosing.  But I do want to say how nice it is to be recognized by other blog writers.

Along with receiving the award, the recipient is supposed to tell seven unshared things about themselves.  I’ve been blogging since 2004 and I’m not sure I have any secrets left.  No, I’m sure I have no secrets left because I’ve been thinking hard, trying to come up with a list.  The only thing I can think of is that I’m left handed, and I’m betting that somewhere along the line I’ve already shared that newsflash.  

14 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

14 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – April 14, 2013

  1. Lizzy…you are vey right about this woman posing on the bike (a boys bike, no less). Girls bikes would have had a “skirt guard” over the rear wheel.

    However, my sister and I had a boys bike we had to share… which was a hand me down from my brothers. We had no frilly clothes to worry over (back in the 1930’s).
    Your blog was again full of interesting facts….thanks.

    Congrats on the blog award…I am often in awe over the knowledge, research, recall, etc. and time that goes into your Blog. I am happy that all your efforts were recognized. Sincerely, Marge

    Like

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who has trouble thinking up facts about herself!

    I’m always amazed at the wealth of knowledge you possess and are able to share with all of us readers! You deserve a million “rewards” simply for being able to blog so well and keep it up for so long! Thank you for making us all a little smarter!

    btw, I do believe you were also on Karen’s list of inspiring bloggers and she was the one who nominated me. Had to include you in mine as well, just because I know I have a slightly different circle of readers. =)

    Like

    • I completely forgot about the one from Karen! :”>

      I’m just happy that I have readers who share my interests and who are interested in adding to the conversation. I read a lot, and it’s nice being able to share what I find.

      Like

  3. I’m left-handed too 🙂

    Like

  4. LB

    did someone mention secrets?

    Like

  5. Vera for Target??? Why buy a mint vintage high-end Vera when a cheap knock-off will do? Yes, I’m pouting and I don’t care who knows. Exclusivity, indeed!

    Like

  6. I saw that post on the Vera Tumblr and my reaction was: really? And now that I hear the scarves will be $19.95, I’m even more confused. You can find great vintage Veras at that price and cheaper, quite easily. Silk ones! I no longer shop at Target, but I frequently see the excess of their special collections for sale in my local Goodwills (ugh), and the stuff is not well made. I just don’t understand this collaboration, and I, too, hope they’ll be marked “for Target” or similar. (I’m laughing a little because the latest poster on the Tumblr has Ms. Neumann confused with another famous designer named Vera!)

    Very sad about Caerlee Mills.

    Like

  7. Leslie

    Hey I have several scarves from Mom with the Vera signature and was told they were designer but never knew anything else about them. Thanks for the info! Now I can do some research and make sure those scarves are well taken care of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

