Vintage Miscellany – August 11, 2013

The Vintage Traveler will be off to New York City this week, but there will still be postings here.  I might be a little slow responding, as I’ll be museum hopping and doing a bit of shopping and eating and well, whatever.

I’ll be tweeting my adventures, so if you want to know whether or not I get into trouble you can follow my tweets using the link in the side bar.  Wish me luck in my quest for lots of fashion fun!

*  Cone Denim in Greensboro, NC, has had to find and refurbish old looms to keep up with the demand for their selvage denim.  Capacity was increased by 25%.

*   Dior Couture is not your average sewing factory, and this short video shows why.

*   Colin McDowell looks at the state of fashion criticism and does not like it.

*   Saks Fifth Avenue will be sold to the Hudson’s Bay Company.  Is luxury shopping endangered?

*   Honestly, some people have NO clue about life.

*   On my list for this week: Urban Fabric: Building New York’s Garment District.

*   Here’s look at some vintage travel posters in the Charleston Museum collection.

14 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

14 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – August 11, 2013

  1. Wish I was coming with! Have the best fun ever! Looking forward to reading all about your travels. 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. have fun in the big city!

    Like

  3. Liz…I for one, really enjoyed the Airport Picture showing passengers getting ready to board the Douglas Aircraft pictured in the scene. I, when a former Eastern Airline Stewardess, flew DC-3’s like pictured in the photo (late 40′ early 50’s….and remember how the passengers used to be so well dressed.

    Wouldn’t it be cool if YOU wore a vintage outfit, hat, gloves, etc to portray how a well dressed passenger USED to dress. What fun that would be for you and for other passengers. Just a thought….a great way to start a trip like you are taking…an actual vintage send-off.

    Please don’t tell me you have already left and it is too late for my suggestion.

    Like

  4. I wish I was going to New York! Have a wonderful trip. Xxx

    Like

  5. I’d love to go to New York City someday. Have a wonderful trip.

    Like

  6. Loved that Dior video! Thanks for the link.
    Have a wonderful trip to NYC – hope you get to buy some fabric at Mendel Goldberg!

    Like

  7. Teresa

    Have a fabulous time and good luck!

    Like

  8. Thanks for the Dior video. What an insane amount of work that went into that one outfit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

