Ad Campaign – Select Sweater Jacket, 1946

very Select sweater jacket

Ensembler, favorite all-season extender.  Deftly man-tailored in knit fabric which blends the softness of rabbit’s hair with the lush smoothness of fine virgin wool.

I’ve been thinking so much about jackets lately, partly because I’m getting ready to start on the Chanel-esque jacket I have planned, but also because I recently lost a wardrobe staple, a black knit sweater jacket.  I’d had the sweater for at least ten years, and probably closer to fifteen, so I certainly got my money’s worth.  And to be honest it was starting to show its age.

A quick look through the stores in the town where my old standby went missing proved to be as fruitless as I suspected it would be.  Everything was so thin the light showed through, and it was all made in Bangladesh.  I knew I’d be making my own replacement.

I really love the jacket in the ad, and now I’m on the hunt for a similar pattern.  I have already made a replacement jacket (to be unveiled tomorrow) but I’m seeing a need for one in Chinese Cherry wool knit.

4 Comments

Filed under Ad Campaign

4 responses to “Ad Campaign – Select Sweater Jacket, 1946

  1. What beautiful details on a sweater jacket! I am eager to see what you came up with.

    Like

  2. I’m also looking forward to hearing more about your jacket. What fabric have you chosen? Where did you find it? I just purchased and received Claire Shaeffer’s Tailoring Techniques book. It looks really good.

    Like

  3. Fabulous jacket. I love the detail on the back of the belt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

