Ladies’ Home Journal, February, 1949

To celebrate the first snow for many of us in the Northern Hemisphere, I thought a bit of a sledding party was in order.  I love how the mother and children are all dressed alike, right down to the half-belts on the backs of their coats.  And such an effective use of red, seen only on the caps and in their cheeks (and Mom’s lips).  


Filed under Too Marvelous for Words, Winter Sports

7 responses to “Ladies’ Home Journal, February, 1949

  1. This is darling! I also love how “Journal” is written!


  2. Lillace Christianson

    Gorgeous cover~~I’ve pinned it and given you credit. Hope you’ve had a very happy Thanksgiving!


  3. Wire 9 Vintage

    I do miss the days of such beautiful illustrations as a matter of everyday life!


  4. Ultrawoman

    I like the illustration. I’m still glad I’m in California.


  5. It’s a totally captivating illustration.
    (though the what’s-inside box in the lower left corner does add a somber note)


  6. Love it. Thanks for sharing.


  7. Another California no snow–but I do remember it from my Chicago youth!


Leave a Reply

