Ad Campaign – Hockanum, 1948

TROPIC SEA… the new blue with the sparkle of a holiday mood..by Hockanum, makers of beauty, quality and lasting wear.

If this East Coast weather continues, it looks like it will be coats at the beach this summer.  I love the Tropic Sea color with that touch of green at the neck.  I can’t help but wonder if the “sparkle of a holiday mood” is literal or figurative.

But what I love the most about this ad is how Hockanum bills itself as “makers of beauty…”  They really cut to the heart of the matter, because I think what people really want and need is more beauty in their lives.  And that includes the fabric of one’s coat.

11 Comments

Filed under Ad Campaign

11 responses to “Ad Campaign – Hockanum, 1948

  1. Great color, style, drawing. I’d like to brave a tropic breeze in that, too!

    Like

  2. What a beautiful illustration.

    Like

  3. Lynne Bassett

    What can you tell us about Hockanum woolens? Hockanum is a region in my neck of the woods.

    Like

  4. That color! My goodness!

    Like

  5. We sure do need more beauty…Wish Vogue’s Anna Wintour would do a cover like this.

    Like

  6. Well, I’ve always thought that double collars were all about beauty–just an extra step as if to say the practical and useful is not enough–lets add a little more.

    Like

  7. Beautiful ad…and really, that’s the only kind of beach day I’d enjoy. Cloudy, blustery, and requiring a coat!

    Like

  8. Oh, this is so glamorous! I love it!

    Like

  9. I remember when people had “spring coats” for this time of year, instead of shlumping around in North Face shells. I just thought of an A-line navy wool coat with a white Peter Pan collar that I wore over an Easter dress in the early 60s. (I’m sure my sisters wore it before I did.)
    “Tropical” wool is such a versatile fabric; it’s time for a comeback.
    Thanks for showing that beautiful version!

    Like

Leave a Reply

