Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

I realized that it has been a while since I did a vintage shopping post.   I’m not completely sure why, but I’m not taking as many photos as I used to while shopping.  It may have something to do with Instagram.

More and more I find myself posting shopping photos to Instagram.  It’s almost like shopping with a lot of virtual friends, as the feedback is almost immediate.  I know I talk quite a bit about the pleasures of Instagram, but it really is fun.  Even Suzy Menkes says so.  If you use a smartphone, I really do think you should at least try it out.

But back to the shopping finds,  taken over the course of the past month or so.

The first photo is a vintage California Perfumes poster.  This was the company that became Avon.   Things like this are commonly seen as reproductions, but this one was an original, and quite expensive.

I’ve got a bit of non-buyer’s remorse about this apron.  It was terribly stained, missing a tie, and over-priced.  Still, what a marvelous mid century fashion print!

I am such a map lover.  Just throw a map on something and I’m all over it.  Still, I managed to resist this bed tray, or lap desk, or what have you.

I loved these tobacco cards from 1936 that featured the tennis stars, both men and women, of the day.  You can see how this was a transitional time in tennis wear, with some women wearing skirts below the knee, some wearing shorter skirts, one is wearing a skirt open over shorts, and two are wearing just shorts.  Get a better look here.

I’m a sucker for an old zipper display.

This is the label from a pack of 1920s tissue paper.   By comparison, it sure makes the graphics on packaging today look a bit uninspired.

This is a water sprinkler for ironing, an object that appears to be more decorative than functional.  There is a handle on the back, but it was the unhappy but fashionable ironer that caught my eye.

It’s finds like this that makes one (almost) want to go back to selling.  Three mint in the box French corsets, reasonably priced.

A lovely linen parasol.

Another good for re-sale find, this late 1920s lace dress was in good condition and was a larger size.

Proof that there are real bargains to be found, these Tammis Keefe unicorn placemats were $5 for the set.

And finally, one dealer had a whole stack of antique Kate Greenaway calendars.  This one is from 1884.

16 Comments

Filed under Shopping

16 responses to “Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

  1. ah, the linen parasol! what a beauty.

    Like

  2. Great post Lizzie. Loved the Suzy Menkes interview too. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. I love everything! Plus, you’ve inspired me to try Instagram…

    Like

  4. LOVE the print(blk./white cotton) black beaded dress is great , too,Great finds Miss Lizzy! i have a “find” to discuss with you(please) before i present it…VERY special piece/quite historic – would like to speak with you via phone-is it possible?

    Like

  5. Some good finds! I need one of those water sprinklers.

    Like

  6. neatokeenetsy

    Fabulous finds! I’m swooning over the MC apron – flaws and all!

    Like

  7. Ahhhh, the Tammis Keefe placemats and that 1920s dress!

    Like

  8. Beautiful twenties dress! You must have quite a collection to resist it.

    Like

  9. vastlycurious.com

    L♥ V E the French corsets !

    Like

Leave a Reply

