Vintage Miscellany – June 22, 2014

This photo has identified the beach goers as Jay and Freida.  This photo was most likely taken in the early to mid 1920s.  Freida has adopted the newer wool knit suit, as opposed to the woman to her right who is in an old fashioned bloomer type suit, but she is still not brave enough to expose her legs.

It’s now officially summer here in the Northern Hemisphere.  Enjoy it!

*   The Vancouver Maritime Museum is hosting Babes and Bathers: History of the Swimsuit, June 28 through November 2, 2014. Thanks to Christina

*  Also in Canada, but on the other side is a new exhibition at the Bata Shoe Museum in Toronto – Fashion Victims: The Pleasures and Perils of Dress in the 19th Century Now through June, 2016 again, thanks Christina

*   And talk about dangerous, how about those flammable crinolines?

*   I’d never seen the Bowery Boys blog, but I recently found it through a link to their post about the Ladies’ Mile, a stretch of Sixth Avenue in New York that was the place to shop in the late nineteenth century.  There is an accompanying podcast, and I suggest you set aside an hour to listen and learn.

*   The National Museum of World Culture in Sweden plans to return 89 ancient textiles to Peru.  The items were smuggled out of Peru in 1930.  I hope more museums follow suit and return stolen works to their proper owners.

*   Connections: Sheep to Chanel is an interesting look at the interconnections between the various crafts and industries revolving around wool.  There is a great look at the production of Linton Tweed.

*   The New York Time Magazine calls Elizabeth Hawes “the most brilliant American fashion designer.”

* After President William McKinley’s wife’s tiara was featured on Pawn Stars, the William McKinley Presidental Library and Museum raised the money via crowd-sourcing to buy it for the museum.

*   The Warren of Stafford, Connecticut wool mill closed in December, but should be up and running again in the next week or so.

*   Here’s the bi-weekly Charles James link, and it’s a great one.  The Costume Institute conservators discuss the problems associated with the James gowns.

*   Dov Charney has been relieved as his post as CEO of American Apparel due to “alleged misconduct”.  Considering how many women employees have complained about his behavior over the years, I’d say it’s about time.

*   As a result, both The New York Times and The Washington Post (Robin Givhan is back!) ran articles asking if people were not just tired of the sleaze factor in fashion.  Gosh, I sure hope so.

*   And finally, a disturbing look at how a Seventeen magazine from 1973 compares to one from 2010.  I was lucky to grow up in a time when the magazines produced for teens had some substance to them.  Sure, there were fashions, and there were some features that would be considered cultural appropriation by today’s standard, but there were also articles about political issues and cultural issues.  And when was the last time a Native American woman has been featured on the cover of a magazine?  Progress?

12 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

12 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – June 22, 2014

  1. How did I not know about the crinoline fires!? That’s crazy!

    Also, the tiara, that’s insane! I can’t believe that woman would have brought it to that pawn shop, unless she just wanted attention and money instead of doing the proper choice of donating it to the museum.

    And the Seventeen piece, also very interesting!

    Like

    • What is really amazing about the tiara story is how a museum employee saw the segment on TV. If I had an historically important piece I’d not take it to a pawn shop, I’d take it to one of the big time auction houses. But then I don’t care about being on TV!

      Like

  2. I’m afraid to expose my legs on the beach, too! I wish I could wear her outfit without the tights, though (and not in wool).

    Like

  3. Always love-love-love your collections of articles – learn so much! Thank you!
    del

    Like

  4. Well, you beat me to the McKinley story. I’m still going to write about her–she cropped her hair at the end of the 19th century! I do think Hawes might have been the most brilliant fashion designer in an intellectual way. Fashion is Spinach is one of my favorite books. But it’s puzzling why she couldn’t make a transition to ready to wear.

    Like

  5. Oh, that Seventeen magazine side-by-side…I cringe. Proof that we haven’t come all that far, have we? We’ve regressed. Bleargh.

    Also–Dov Charney? About time. Yes, I’m bored of the sleaze factor in fashion. Enough already.

    I need to be following the Bowery Boys blog. And I’ve bookmarked the Elizabeth Hawes piece to read later. I hadn’t heard of her, but just a glance at that and I’m fascinated.

    A superb collection of thought-provoking links as always, Lizzie. Thank you!

    Like

  6. quilt4di@verizon.net

    I want to unsubscribe but you site sends me to page th

    Like

  7. Carrie

    The photo is wonderful! It’s so easy to forget that styles change gradually, and so nice to have an image of the swimsuit revolution unfolding in the 20s… (And count me among those who prefer a more covered up look on the beach!)

    So glad Hawes is receiving some long-overdue attention… Maybe now that the NYT has put her squarely in the public eye (and on a nice pedestal, too!), Vogue will consider adding her to the “Designers” section of Voguepedia?

    Like

  8. Pingback: july/august ~ calm before storm | Curls n Skirls

Leave a Reply

