Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

I recently did a bit of shopping in northern South Carolina, in the Greenville area.   There are several very nice antique malls in the area, and there was quite a bit that I saw and liked but did not buy.

First up is a salesman’s case from Ferris Woolen Company.  Dated 1939 – 1940, I really liked the graphics.  I already have one from the early 1920s, which I’ve written about in the past.

Isn’t this old croquet box the best?

Had this been a Scottie, I’d probably have had to buy it.  Still, this little child’s wheelbarrow was pretty special.

This calendar is from 1958.  Now I’ve decided that I must have a hat that holds golf tees.

In hindsight, I probably should have bought this zipper display and zippers.  I love metal Talons, and pick them up to use.  These were odd colors so I passed on them.

For Zest and Fun, Drink B-1.  It’s full of vitamins, you know.

Who doesn’t need a Likker Lugger?

This great little sailor man pin shows us how to wear a striped tee.  I love the details, including the diagonal pocket.

I’ve been thinking more and more about getting an old sewing stand.  I’m telling myself it will eliminate some clutter.

This is a sorry photo of a really fantastic hat.  It was really lovely, and it had a great label to boot.

In my part of the world, Pappagallos were THE shoe of the mid 1960s.  Even the lining is cute.

This late 1910s dress had some damage, but the fabric was really terrific.  Those dots are not printed, they are woven.  It was simply a fantastic textile.

The snowsuit of doom, but how about those mittens?

I loved this advertising poster so much. I mean, really, really loved it.

So, did I mess up by leaving these great things unbought?

19 Comments

Filed under Shopping

19 responses to “Shopping with The Vintage Traveler

  1. I find that if something still “calls to me” after I leave it I probably should’ve bought it. But if I say “how would I feel if someone else bought this instead of me” that sometimes encourages me to make the decision.

    Funny how buyer’s remorse works in both directions! buying things you later regret, regretting things you later wish you bought 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve gotten pretty good at buying things that I know I’ll regret later passing up. And to be honest, I’d be happy owning any of the things I pictured. As you well know, it is just not possible to own all the great stuff!

      Like

  2. The wheelbarrow is adorable.
    I laughed out loud when I read ‘Likker Lugger’!
    And I like the multi-directional use of the stripes combined with the dots on that 1910’s dress – it’s quite graphic and reminds me a little of Charles Rennie Mackintosh.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Carol

    Love the woven dress too, but it was the final item that got me. I grew up in Greenville in the 70s and O’Neall-Williams was still around. Don’t know if it has hung on or been driven out by the big boxes of sporting goods suppliers.

    Like

  4. joulesstar

    Would you believe, I owned the Pappagallo shoes? If I recall correctly, mine were a slightly different shade of green.

    That 1910 dress is terrific!

    Always enjoy your “virtual shopping excursions” Lizzie.

    Like

  5. so many choices! Especially loved the dog cart…the Pappagallo shoes (I hope not my size)…and the snowsuit of doom! You can’t buy it all (although that’s not what I tell myself) but as has been said, see how it ‘lingers’. Maybe they can ship them! Thanks for taking us shopping with you 🙂

    Like

  6. That wheelbarrow would have come home with me! What a fun shopping trip!

    Like

  7. I think you should have bought the Pappagallos and that 1910s dress!

    Like

  8. Liz

    I remember the name O’Neall-Williams well, but not where it was. This book “Remembering Greenville: Photographs from the Coxe Collection,” available on Google books, has a picture of the building in the 200 block of North Main (look for O’Neal, one l); but even so, I can’t locate it in my mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

