August in Review

August is just right for just lying back in one’s hammock with a good book and a cold drink.  Matching toenails are optional.

I’ve been a fan of Genevieve Antoine Dariaux’s early 1960s guide to proper dressing for a very long time, so I was happy to find Elegance by Kathleen Tessaro, a novel in which our heroine tries to up her elegance game by following Dariaux’s advice.  It was fun.

After a failed attempt to find a proper silk with which to reline my early 1960s Davidow/Chanel jacket, I decided to use a less than perfect Vera scarf.  I’m still working on it, but will share photos soon.

Here is just a taste of an incredible dress that I found at the Goodwill outlet.  The bodice is trimmed with those half circles, and the skirt is pleated and swingy.  I was hoping desperately to find a Travilla label, because it is of that quality, and he was known for making and remaking versions of the famous Seven Year Itch dress that Marilyn Monroe wore over the subway grate.  Unfortunately, there is no label.  I’m still researching this one.

The grapes ripened and the birds and I fought over them.

I have a new job.  Just kidding.  We are having some work done at Tim’s grandparents’ place and I couldn’t resist this classy photo op.

I made pajama bottoms.  Tim got a pair too, but mine are cuter.

This is the side of an old dog food tin that I spotted at an antique market.

Two years ago I swore I’d never go to the Hillsville, Virginia flea market again.  It was just too big, too hot, too junky, and too much.  But in a moment of weakness I headed off, and was pleasantly surprised.  I bought a lot of about 50 patterns, most of them from the 1940s, for $20.  And that was just the beginning.  It was a very nice day.

And that is it for August.

18 Comments

Filed under Viewpoint

18 responses to “August in Review

  1. oooh! Can’t wait to see the rest of that pink dress! And without reading the caption I would’ve sworn that the pattern you used for your pajama pants was one you used for the tops – I love those boat neck 3/4 sleeved ones from Marimekko (except for the price tag :-))

    Can’t believe it’s September!

    Like

  2. My mouth’s still hanging open at your pattern haul – fantastic!
    del

    Like

  3. vastlycurious.com

    Fabulous and tactile until I came to you on the bull dozer and laughed so hard !

    Like

  4. I’m looking forward to that relined jacket — brilliant idea!

    Like

  5. I thought you stopped collecting patterns. Fifty–that’s a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A truly elegant month filled with the variety of life 🙂

    Like

  7. Diana coleman

    Fabulous combination….lining for your Davidow/Chanel creation. I remember Davidow well….a great answer for those of us who couldn’t afford Chanel.

    Like

  8. Pingback: sort of a caftan | Curls n Skirls

Leave a Reply

