Shopping with the Vintage Traveler

It’s time for another edition of shopping adventures in which I show some interesting things I spotted, but that I did not buy.  The photo above was taken at the Liberty Antiques Festival last month.  This seller had tubs and tubs of textiles and old clothes and yes, I did manage to find a few wonderful things.

One thing I passed on was a pair of men’s wool swimming trunks with this label.  It was such a great example of a woven label, but I really can’t start buying things just for the label, can I?

I loved this official souvenir of the Ice Capades.  I would have loved it more at the original price!

One vendor at Liberty had stacks and stacks of super woolen fabrics.  I managed to limit myself to just one fantastic piece, which I’m sure you’ll see somewhere down the road when I get around to sewing it.

I spotted this in a local antique mall, and it was labeled as an Edwardian jacket.  I would have loved to be able to examine it, as to me it looked like it was made from old embroidered table linens.  I could be wrong, but all the square mitered corners just gave it that appearance.

I’m crazy about unusual display pieces and mannequins, and so this vintage little girl fits into that category.

This fantastic twig furniture set is for the cabin in the woods that I do not have.

I’m guessing that this Revlon make-up display is from the late 1950s or early 60s.  The sales person had to get the products from the back of the case, and that sure did help eliminate the shoplifting problem.

I tried to find a reason to buy the velvet and sequined beret.  It was from Hattie Carnegie.

The scarf I found at a local shop was indeed Hermes, and was priced quite attractively.  This proves I have strong willpower.  You also get a nice look at my vintage Converse All Stars.

I loved this shop sign, but what would someone do with something this large?

Finally, my favorite find of the month, a WWI poster encouraging the many women workers to ride their bicycles to work instead of taking a motor vehicle.  It’s interesting how this one does not reference the woman’s patriotic duty, but instead focuses on the benefits of cycling.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Shopping

16 responses to “Shopping with the Vintage Traveler

  1. I would have bought the World War One poster. We have one, a gift from a friend, that says “All They Ask is Your Old Clothes” with a list of European countries (some which no longer exist) in small print. It’s in the laundry room.

    Like

  2. That tablecloth?/jacket might be both; once war broke out, the Ladies’ Home Journal assumed that most clothes would be made from other old clothes and household items. They even sold patterns with accompanying pictures of the things you could recycle instead of buying cloth. I’ll keep an eye out for this jacket! (and try to run some photos of those LHJ pattern illustrations soon.)

    Like

  3. Danette

    These pictures make me so happy!

    Like

  4. I am totally guilty of wanting to buy items just for their labels too! And that eye make up display is fantastic! I love the script!

    Like

  5. Christina

    I’ve never seen an original pattern for an Edwardian walking jacket that could be part of a suit and which suggested using table linens but it’s possible. The handkerchief cut-away design which looks mitred was a popular style. It also mimics the kimono fashion. These jackets and suits are pretty rare to find nowadays.

    Like

  6. Always love these posts..makes me want to jump on a plane..now! xxx

    Like

  7. QueensGirl

    It’s fun to browse along with you. There are so many interesting things out there, so little time (alas!).

    Like

  8. Wow! You have a lot of willpower to pass up the Hattie Carnegie beret and the Hermes scarf. Plus so many other lovely things!! I know how you feel, though. It really is a challenge to see so much cool stuff and you know you just can’t have all of it. Unless you’re planning on winding up on an episode of Hoarders 🙂

    Like

  9. I’d have bought that poster in a heartbeat–even though we’re still strying to decide where to put up our existing art in the new house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

