Vintage Miscellany – November 9, 2014

There’s nothing like a rousing game of croquet on a Sunday afternoon.  I cannot say why the woman in the center appears to be lifting her skirt so high.  It could be that she is just holding a cloth.  But do note the girls and the length of their dresses.  The very young girl on the right has a skirt that just skims her knees.  There are what looks to be two older girls in the background, as their skirts are just a little longer.

And now for the news…

*   The Patagonia company is getting serious about sustainability.

*   The fabric of the frontier: How textiles help us understand the American West.

*   John Galliano lost his suit against Dior for unfair dismissal.

*   There are times when I read something and I just jump up and shout, YES!”  It looks like skinny jeans may really be on their way out.

*  And even more good news: Barbara Hulaniicki is returning to designing for the label she started, Biba. Thanks to Jonathan for the link

*   What do you think happened to a woman who wore slacks to a courtroom in 1938?

*   Ann Demeulemeester discussed life after fashion: “It is the first time I don’t feel like I have a rope around my neck.”

*   I’d never heard of Maria Kipp, but her story is fascinating. Thanks to Mod Betty for the link.

*   A lot is written about how authentic – or not – movie and television costumes are, and this great post shows some examples.  It makes me wonder if all the retro sewing that is happening now will cause a lot of confusion for collectors in the future.

*   How about those matching Korean sweethearts?

*   All I can say is WHY?   The Paul Poiret name is up for sale, and a revival of Courrèges is under way.

*   Okay, this has nothing to do with fashion, but I’ve got to agree somewhat.  Twitter mourning is tacky.

8 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

8 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – November 9, 2014

  1. poppysvintageclothing

    Thanks for sharing all these…enjoyed the article on Maria Kipp, I had not heard of her before but I am certain I have come across some of her fabulous lamp shades!

    Like

  2. Glad I could pass along the link about Maria Kipp! You know I love to connect folks up with things they might be interested in (it’s the modern version of a family tradition “I read this in the paper and thought you might be interested in it so I cut it out and saved it/mailed it to you” :-))

    Hooray for the end of the skinny jeans, says one that is more curvy than she’d like to be – but I’m wary of the Mom Jean coming back. There seemed to be so many choices in that article I’m as confused as ever. And the prices – I think I’ll just wear what I own ’til it wears out, maybe by that time it will be back in fashion.

    Looks like some old Levi’s are getting the redo here:

    Levi's 501 Short_front

    Like

  3. What I found most interesting about the woman arrested for wearing pants was that she said she didn’t own any dresses, except for an evening gown. And this was in 1938! Unfortunately, there is no record of what she wore as she aged.

    Like

    • It’s especially interesting because she was a teacher, a job in which women were expected to wear skirts and dresses. Perhaps it was a private kindergarten where the dress code was more casual. In the system where I worked, teachers were not allowed to wear pants until 1975!

      Like

  4. Christina

    Thank you for posting the article about the fabric of the frontier. A poignant reminder about the dark side of fashion and social history.

    Like

    • I really liked that article, as the interrelationships between the cloth and the different groups of people were described so well. I’m assuming that not everyone is aware that there were some Native Americans who owned Black slaves. The practice was quite common among the more prosperous Cherokee, especially those in North Georgia.

      Like

Leave a Reply

