Ad Campaign – Bobbie Brooks, 1957

Luscious lambswool intarsia sweaters by Bobbie Brooks and a dyed-to-match skirt

A magnificent look… yours in either beige heather or grey heather.

What I found interesting about this ad from 1957 was the use of the word “intarsia.”  I strongly suspect that if I were to stand on the corner of a busy street and ask random strangers what an intarsia sweater is that very few of them would know, the exceptions being knitters and textile fanatics.  But there it was in 1957 being used as a selling point in an ad as if anyone reading it would know the term.

I was too young in 1957 to have any idea about this, but what about my older readers?  Did intarsia sweaters mean anything to you?

For the non-knitters reading, intarsia is a technique of using different blocks of color like you see in all three sweaters above. For each block the other color is not carried across the back of the knitting like is commonly seen in patterned sweaters.

7 Comments

Filed under Ad Campaign

7 responses to “Ad Campaign – Bobbie Brooks, 1957

  1. Intarsia…I guess I had one…but never remember the term I purchased mine about 1953. It is really the same technique as when you knit argyle sox.
    My sweater was really unusual and one of my favorites…It was very fine wool with like an X on the front and back… each quadrant being a different shade of grey. I wore it with a grey wool flannel “pegged” skirt to match the bottom quadrant…. with a 25 cent pair of charcoal pearls from the five and ten cent store.
    I doubt if it was a Bobby Brooks…I was not aware of labels. .

    Thanks for reviving an old memory…of how nice I USED to dress. Now it is jeans with paint spots all over and a sweat shirt.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I learned a new word!

    Like

  3. Christina

    That was when the English language mattered in advertising…

    Like

  4. Like Lynn, I too learned a new word!

    I adore the detailing on the skirt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

