My New Favorite Martex Design

Look familiar?  If you’ve been reading The Vintage Traveler for a month, then you’ll recognize this Martex design from a earlier post where I showed a modern dress that used a modified version of a Mid Century Martex print found on a linen towel.  I was delighted to get the same towel, but in blue in the mail the other day.

It was a gift from Mod Betty of Retro Roadmap, who had found the dress that sparked my original post.  Sometimes I think I ought to put Mod Betty (along with a few others who are always sending great leads my way) on the payroll.  But then I remember that there is no payroll, so MB ends up getting paid the same as I do.

I find the current obsession with mid 20th century design to be interesting, and a bit amusing.  Being born in 1955, I was surrounded with “modern” design.  When a generation that had not been as exposed to this design rediscovered it ten or fifteen years ago, I thought it a bit odd.  What was so commonplace to me looked fresh and exciting to their eyes.  And I can see that they were right.

I can’t see myself living in a house surrounded by the artifacts of my childhood, but I look at the Mid Century houses of so many of my online friends and I can easily see the appeal of the style.  I realize that I was very lucky to grow up surrounded by good design.  Well, except for the lamps, and I’m sorry, but the Fifties and Sixties saw the birth of some mighty ugly lamps.

I bet there is a black version of this one.

 

When  it comes to textile design, I really think that the designers of the 1940s through 60s were at the top of the game.  The simplicity of these Martex towels say “Cocktail Time” without the overly cutesy-ness of similar designs being made today.

Thanks so much, Beth!

3 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Curiosities, Novelty Prints

3 responses to “My New Favorite Martex Design

  1. reminds me of Lucy in her Capri pants and changing her apartment to “modern”…the Martex screen prints are as refreshing now as then..the Mod-ern prints were great..thank you Lizzie again!

    Like

  2. I am fascinated with the current fascination with mid century modern design and finding myself appreciating it anew! Love these towels!

    Like

  3. FYI–After your post on the dress with an adaption of this print, my curiosity was fired up and I did some looking around online to see where the textile copy had come from. I eventually found an example of the fabric in question. When I contacted the seller to find out who made this fabric, she didn’t give me that info, just stated that it was out of print. That’s as far as I could get with it.
    (https://www.etsy.com/transaction/244358099?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

