Vintage Miscellany – January 4, 2015

Winter is in full swing here in the Northern Hemisphere, or at least most of it.  I’ll admit I’m a little jealous of the warm people in today’s photos, which were taken in January, 1942 at Miami Beach.  Everyone looks happy and carefree enough, but note the little groups of people who have gathered to talk.  It was about a month after the US entered WWII, and was surely the topic on the minds of every person.

And now for some news…

*  Tonight is the US opening of season five of Downton Abbey.  Avoiding spoilers has been quite difficult, but I won’t spoil any of it for you.

*   Susan at Witness2Fashion post a fantastic chart from 1970 showing all the various skirt lengths.  I’ll admit that in 1970 I was firmly in the mini camp.

*   The LA Weekly did a great piece on the restoration of one of  Scarlett’s dresses from Gone with the Wind.  Most interesting was that this dress had been restored in the 1980s by the original designer,  Walter Plunkett.  (As a side note, I question why the author of this piece used the word zaftig to describe the collections manager of the museum.)

*  The Museum of London did an interesting video called The Anatomy of a Suit.

*   The most interesting name for a bicycle ever must be the Psycho.

*   The Museum at Fit Talks about counterfeit fashion bags.

*   The Fashion Originator’s Guild of America was an attempt by the fashion industry to eliminate fashion copiers.  Protected garments were labeled as such, but unfortunately, there does not seem to be a way to trace the maker from that label.  Kickshawproductions has posted a listing of the members of FOGA in 1941.

*   The Museums Association in the UK is planning to tighten their code of ethics in an effort to stop the selling of museum holdings in order to raise money for operating expenses.

*   My last link is probably not of interest to many readers, but the historian in me found it so interesting.  Titled Civil War Military Historians Are Freaking Out, the piece examines an ongoing debate in the Civil War academic community about how the social history of the War threatens to overshadow the military history.  For the life of me, I can’t see how the two approaches are mutually exclusive.

 

11 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

11 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – January 4, 2015

  1. The “zaftig” descriptor is used in the Scarlett Dress article because, judging by the photograph of which I assume shows Ms. Werling’s wrists, she is not a skeletal size 0. I declare I rather find the word offensive eventhough I have no patience with those people who are perpetually offended by everything. But I’ll just think about that tomorrow.

    Like

  2. With winter here in Boston, I’m extremely jealous of the Aussies on my InstaGram feed who are posting vacation pictures from the beach! Summer seems like a long way away.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Morning Waters

    I’ll bet that if the collection manager had been a man, no mention of his size would have been made. Another example of women being judged by their looks and not their expertise. Very annoying.

    Like

  4. regarding the Civil war debates–as a kid I was in love with that era (100 year anniversary and all), but my interests were cultural and later on I was so disappointed in my classroom lectures which droned on about battles. I say bring on the culturalists!

    Like

    • From my teaching experience I can tell you that most children are more interested in the lives of the people of an era than of the battles and politics. There are exceptions of course, and they grow up to become re-enactors!

      Like

  5. I loved the Anatomy of a Suit video. I used to volunteer for the “Men’s Team” in a costume shop because I wanted to learn more about tailoring. (One thing I learned was that, after 8-hour days of hand stitching, I needed to sleep wearing a wrist brace at night!) However, seeing those familiar layers of padding, each layer curved and shaped and secured, reminded me that a cheap suit made with iron-on interfacing can never duplicate the figure flattery of a properly tailored garment. Once, when I tried to open the facing of an off-the-rack man’s suit to alter it, there were no stitches to cut. It was literally glued together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

