Month in Review – February, 2015

I know that February is a short month, but that one just flew by.  If I were a talking in the third person type, I’d be tempted to change the title of these monthly updates to Keeping Up with Lizzie.  I found this at the Metrolina show in Charlotte this month.

Also spotted at Metrolina was this super button card.  An attractive pearl trimming, attractively marketed.

We did a big library clean up and reorganization at my house.  Here’s a sampling of the fashion books.

I had several lovely reminders of how much I get from keeping this blog.  The illustration above is the cover of a 1924 Harper’s Bazar.  It, along with a dozen other early 1920s magazines, was sent to me by reader Susan Maresco.  What a treasury of great images and information!

I also got a sweet surprise from Juliet of SixCatsFun Vintage – the cutest little embroidered Scottie towel.  How did she know I’d love it so?

While in New York I was lucky enough to meet up with Julie of JetSetSewing.  She not only showed me around the fantastic old-school New York club where she was staying, but she also treated me to a much needed lunch.  And the last morning I was in the city I had breakfast with my good friend, Monica Murgia. It was so much fun catching up with her.

New York is always fun, even if it is cold enough to freeze one’s nose off.  All the layers of clothes left me feeling like the Michelin Man, but they did keep me warm.

And when clothes didn’t work, there were sippy cups of Cabernet Sauvignon.  We saw Matilda: The Musical, and it was delightful, and not just because of the wine.

Cannoli – one of the true delights of Little Italy.  The signature filling was cinnamon.

A lot of my time was spent, of course, in the wonderful museums of New York.  The Museum at FIT is a favorite.  Reviews of the two shows will be posted soon.

I’ve been looking for this pattern for years.  Please help me find it!

And finally, meet Kali.  She is an elkhound mix that was offered for adoption through a group for which I do some volunteering.  I’m happy to report that Kali found a home, and now has two people and a rottweiler brother of her own!

6 Comments

Filed under Viewpoint

6 responses to “Month in Review – February, 2015

  1. Lizzie…Was the Lizzie in the book title referring to “The Tin Lizzie” Ford???

    I think the book was a perfect find for you… Hope I see you at Metrolina this week end…. I will have mostly mannequin heads.

    Always a treat to see what you find.

    Like

  2. Go Kali!

    I love that button packaging.

    Like

  3. I loved getting a virtual trip to New York with you, Lizzie. It’s been way too long since I’ve been there and you picked out exactly what I would’ve wanted to see, right down to Matilda, the Musical. And I really appreciated your look at the wonderful retail architecture from the pre-modernist era when ornamentation wasn’t a sin! Can’t wait to for the museum show reports.

    Like

Leave a Reply

