New York City Miscellany

I found just a few more photos of New York City that I wanted to share.  This is the side of the Cathedral of Saint John the Divine, which is unfinished and is massive.  We stayed in this neighborhood, which is near Columbia University where my friend was attending a special class.

Also nearby was this pretty corner of Central Park.  Much of the park was closed due to the pathways being icy, but I enjoyed walking alongside it anyway.

I’m always amazed by the selection available in the Garment Center stores.  This is just a small section of the button room at M & J Trimmings.  It helps to go in with a list of things you have been looking for, otherwise the selection is overwhelming.  Side note:  the customer next to me was a costumer working on Finding Neverland, which was getting ready to open on Broadway.  Only in New York!

I know that looking up brands one as an out-of-towner, but I really couldn’t help myself.

I’ve been really, really wanting this tiny little Louis Vuitton trunk-inspired bag ever since it debuted on the runway last year.  Since it was featured in every magazine and blog I was a bit surprised to see it still available in such large numbers.  It might have something to do with the $5500 price tag.  That, for a bag that is so tiny it would hold a credit card, a lipstick and not much else.

Lovely Washington Square is always good for a bit of people-watching.

And finally, what I probably should have bought, but didn’t – Andy Warhol Converse Chuck Taylors.  I have a thing for art and fashion mash-ups, and these were right up my alley.  I know I can order them, but the moment has passed.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Viewpoint

10 responses to “New York City Miscellany

  1. I am so glad to see more photos from your trip! I did not take enough with my recent visit. My hostess insisted we go into M & J Trimmings after visiting FIT and I was completely overwhelmed with all the options so did not buy anything. Even with all that we can see and buy everywhere and on -line, NYC is still an amazing concentration of things to see, do or buy!

    Like

  2. I have two rules for handbags (or, in my case, shoulder or cross-body bags) : 1. Your purse should not weigh more than its contents, and 2. Your purse should not cost more than the largest amount of cash you will ever carry in it. So, no Louis Vuitton for me! (Of course, I also refuse to wear shoes that hurt, which puts me beyond the pale, fashion-wise.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely shots! St. John the Divine really brought me back to my “old” neighborhood, ca. 1982. (That’s old!)

    Like

  4. Wow! Look at all of those buttons!

    And, I totally hear you on the LV, yesh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

