Liberty Antiques Festival – Spring, 2015

I’m back in the land of the internet, but with a new hard drive and new programs, so it is taking me a while to get up to speed. I know I don’t really have to say this because you readers are all very smart, but just as a reminder, ALWAYS back up your files.

As always, The Liberty NC Antiques Festival is always worth a trip.  I love it because many of the sellers there save their best for the twice-a-year show, and I always see new things and I always learn something.  This show was a bit light on clothing and textiles, which was a shame.  I think sellers are reluctant to bring them if rain is predicted as it is held outdoors.

And while there were not a lot of textiles, there were enough fashion related items to keep me happy.  For some reason there were quite a few vintage and antique dressmaker’s dummies, and even in the early hours of the show, most of them were labeled “sold.”

I took this photo, not because these spools are special, but because it occurred to me that those of you living in a place where textiles were not manufactured might not find them to be quite as ordinary as we do here in North Carolina.  I don’t think I’ve even been to a show in the piedmont of North Carolina where there were not piles and boxes of these old spools.

Old advertising pieces often have a lot to say about fashion.  They also remind us that a pretty girl (with shapely ankles) can sell anything, including ice cream.  I liked this paper fan not only because it was local, but also because I can imagine it was given out as a freebie at a 1915 baseball game in Winston-Salem.

And there is nothing like a pretty girl in her underwear to sell corn medication.

I’m wondering how they kept those Chesterfields lit, and how she kept that hat from flying away.

Look carefully at this 1930s display and you’ll notice that the bottle of ginger ale is not part of the print, but is an actual bottle.  There is a little recess with a shelf and it is made to look like an icebox.  So clever, and quite pricey!

I guess I should have bought this great summertime picnic in the backyard print.  It was an apron.

I found this interesting scarf in a box of linens.  Can you tell that the butterfly wings are applied plastic “jewels” like were used on Enid Collins bags?   I was sure this was a Collins piece, but further investigation proved me wrong.

Vera Neumann, and an early piece at that!

The Lilly Purse by Tommy Traveler.  These were vinyl and cheap, but how cute is that display of them!

A 1920s pearl restringing outfit.

Mermaids always insist on real mother of pearl buttons.

Click to enlarge

 

The Parisian Dressmakers Formula by Mrs. L.M. Livingston, copyright 1876.  Note that this cost ten dollars, a lot of money in 1876.  Also note that it appears that the owner got her money’s worth, as it shows signs of being used quite a bit.  Anyone here ever used such a system?

17 Comments

Filed under North Carolina, Shopping

17 responses to “Liberty Antiques Festival – Spring, 2015

  1. Thank you for all the pictures, Liz. I felt like I was there with you. Let me know when next Liberty Flea Market is….I would love to attend. Metrolina was it’s usual this past week end. I did see one booth of old clothes with price tags still in tact. They were 5.00 each piece. I thought of you, but since I do not have your knowledge about vintage…I passed on them.

    Like

  2. Oh, how lovely! Don’t know if I coulda left that embroidery behind. Would be lovely on one of my walls! Thank you, as always, for a grand tour!
    del

    Like

  3. These are such cool items! I was wondering about a garment detail of the girl on the baseball fan. Her left arm seems to have a bit of elbow poking out below the sleeve; is that what’s happening? I didn’t realize sleeves like this would have only gone up a bit past the elbow and weren’t a whole blouse!

    Also, I think the MrsDepew pattern shop on Etsy sells patterns that are drafted using a similar system to the dressmaker formula piece here. I’ve used it a couple times, and it’s intriguing! Using rulers that come with the pattern, I can draft the pattern in anything from doll to plus size! The shop owner also has a tutorial on this process on her blog: http://afewthreadsloose.blogspot.no/2013/01/draft-at-home-patterns-how-to.html

    Like

  4. As always, I enjoyed this trip to the market with you, Lizzie! That Vera scarf is a really nifty find.

    Like

  5. It looks like a great sale. The spools are scarce here in California, but I find them easily when I go to Kentucky in the summer.

    I have a tip about your computer that you might like:

    A few years ago my laptop crashed and I had to replace the hard drive. Someone mentioned that even though the old hard drive would not boot, that did not mean that there weren’t retrieval files on it. I bought an external hard drive case (they come in sizes for a laptop’s small drives and a desktop’s larger drives). I inserted the hard drive into the housing, and plugged the devise into a USB slot, and was able to access the files just as if they were on a flash drive. If you still have that old hard drive, you might be able to save some of your files.

    Like

  6. The Vera scarf is a great find! Did it come home with you?

    Textile bobbins: I have a skipping rope from childhood with handles made from bobbins. And I think I have another bobbin somewhere that was made into a biro.

    The dressmaking formula has me completely foxed. If you have more information about how it was used, I’d love to hear more about it.

    Like

  7. A jump rope makes perfect sense. I’m sure now that I’ve seen one as well. There was an instruction book with the dressmaking device originally. I’m sure having it would simplify things!

    Like

  8. Re: Parisian Dressmakers Formula device
    You might look at this description of Table 1 on page 3 of “The Parisian Ladies’ Tailoring System”, which was originally folded up at the back of the book. Found at Hathitrust.org.
    “The Parisian Ladies’ Tailoring System”, by Alexander Zalay Zeisler, about 1917.
    http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011209838
    Glad you’re up and running again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

