Shopping with the Vintage Traveler – July, 2015

Summertime is hot in North Carolina, so I usually don’t leave the cooler mountains until September.  But I was enticed down to the flatlands by the Vintage Charlotte Summer Market. This market has been going on now for several years, but for this event they moved to a larger venue and there were more vendors.  And, I’m happy to report, some of the regular vendors had really upped their game.

I also went to a large antique mall in Charlotte, the Sleepy Poet, which is always good for a few hours browsing.  So some of these photos are from Vintage Charlotte and others are from the mall.

How great is this 1950s handbag?  The beads are glued on, and the eyeglasses are cut from felt.

Not only were these wonderful late 1940s shoes in perfect condition, the details put them a few steps above the average shoe.  I loved that gold trim with the brown suede.

That’s Andi of Raleigh Vintage on the left.  She and Isaac always have a terrific booth.

I’m crazy for suitcases and luggage of all types, but I spotted this little case and just could not figure it out.

Turns out it is a portable card file!

Sometimes an imitation can be even greater than the original as in the case of this Lilly Pulitzer wannabe.  It is so much of a copy that you can almost – but not quite – find the Lilly signature in the print.  Frankly, I think it is better than most Pulitzer prints I’ve seen.

I have a collection idea for all the necktie wearing readers: Rooster ties.  Rooster was owned by Max Raab, the man behind Villager. Rooster ties were unusual because of the square end and because they were cut on the straight of the fabric rather than the bias.  The novelty prints that Rooster used are fun and whimsical, as you can see in the four examples above.

Poppycock Vintage had some super little hats.

That favorite date is very late, but hopefully he’ll not be a cheap date and just buy her the chocolate marshmallow special.

Even the inside of that notebook is great.

There was a lot to look through at Vintage Charlotte, and if you are in the area it is well worth a drive to Charlotte.  They have the market several times a year, with the next one being in November, I think.  I didn’t buy a lot, but I did find an arm-load of 1950s fashion magazines.  That always equals a great day of shopping.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Shopping

13 responses to “Shopping with the Vintage Traveler – July, 2015

  1. Ultrawoman

    What did the business card on the portable card file say? What did the remaining cards say?

    Like

  2. And did you buy those fashion magazines?!
    Lovely things ~ thank you for taking us along!

    Like

  3. I always love virtually shopping with you! Those Rooster ties are great. I don’t think we’ve ever seen on; Andy and I will have to keep on the lookout.

    So great to see Andi of Raleigh!

    An armload of 1950s magazines sounds like an excellent haul to me.

    Like

  4. Yes, I am looking forward to seeing the contents of those magazines soon. And I’ll bet that note card carrying case was the prize possession of some academic.

    Like

  5. You found great things !!! Love the case-looks like it is in wonderful condition…I really miss the vintage shopping trips.

    Like

  6. I, too, always enjoy your shopping posts and great images. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. I want to go shopping with you! (I think I’ve said that before…) Love that Lilly wannabe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

