1920s Shawl-Collared Sweaters, Part II

One of the great things about collecting photographs is that I don’t have to look very far for illustrations for my blog posts.  I found the shawl sweaters in my 1921 catalog so interesting that I looked through my collection to see how women wore shawl-collared sweaters in the 1920s.

Above is an early 1920s photo that was taken at a sporting event of some sort, maybe a college field day at a school for women.  There were lots of young women in middys and bloomers, but there were also some very sporty spectators.

I posted this photo some time ago in a quest to figure out what the heck these young people were doing.  A close look shows that at least one of them is wear a shawl-collared sweater.  (They are pulling a log for some unknown reason.)

This sweater looks like a more masculine style, so it is possible that this young woman has appropriated her boyfriend’s or brother’s sweater.  I didn’t show any men’s sweaters from the Famous Fain catalog, but it does show this style of cardigan – a style that changed very little through the 1960s.

This photo is a bit more recent than the others, being dated 1929.  It’s a good possibility that this is a man’s sweater as well, as those made for women tended to be more “fashionable.”  By 1929, this style had been around for a while.

Collecting vintage photos is fun.  They are easy to store and they do not take up much space.  For practically every interest, there are vintage photos.  I have a really hard time limiting myself to just ones of women in sports clothes and to travelers.  I could easily tip over into people wearing Halloween costumes, homes decorated for Christmas, and kids playing with their dogs.  And though I don’t actively collect them, I always look for ones that are somehow quirky, like ones I saw at the Met several years ago.  I could have a category called “people doing nutty stuff in inappropriate clothing.”

5 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Proper Clothing, Vintage Photographs, Winter Sports

5 responses to “1920s Shawl-Collared Sweaters, Part II

  1. Have always loved shawl collars ~ thanks for a bit of their history!

    Like

  2. I have photos of my grandmother wearing shaw collar sweaters. One is from 1927.

    Like

  3. Love these photos, especially the last woman with the (seemingly) coordinated beret and sweater.

    Like

  4. I have photos of my Great Uncles and Grand Father in the 20’s in their shawl -collared sweaters – they interestingly were wearing them as jackets- and had a vest underneath – pleated trousers -golf-collars . Very dapper – wish I had one! had one in the 80’s with suede elbow patches. I remember a designer in the 80’s 9 Ralph or Calvin) did them as 3/4 and full lengths as coat sweaters. Worn over a sweater dress- very 20’s/30’s. I like your photo of the 20’s college letter version!

    Like

  5. You are an inspiration with your photo collection–and have been generous to share some photos with me. I love shawl collars–really my favorite thing in the winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

