Updates – The Rest of the Story

It’s time to update a few old stories.  I wrote about the above golf set almost a year ago.  It is from Serbin of Florida, had had a Marianne by Serbin label.

As I’d hoped, I have heard from Marianne Serbin Friedman, and she is in the process of answering some questions about her family’s company.  Stay tuned!

The photo above was sent to me by Pam of Glamoursurf.  Two years ago I posted an ad for fabric that Vera Neumann designed for Schumacher in the 1950s.  In my post I stated that Vera signed a licensing agreement with Schumacher in 1947 and that it lasted for ten years.  Evidently, Vera did a later project with Schumacher, as Pam found an ad for a similar fabric to the one above that was dated 1979.

It always pays to keep an open mind when reading anything about history.  There are no absolutes that I know of.

And finally, I wrote about Lou Pollock’s Asheville shoe store last year.  It was a real treat hearing from his daughter.

I am the youngest daughter of Lou Pollock and you brought tears to my eyes.I was raised in that store and learned when I was very young – how to give to the community. My father not only gave away shoes to children in need on Christmas day – but to care for them 364 days during the rest of the year.  I learned.
Later in years my husband and I were in the children’s wear business in Michigan and the 1st Christmas came along – our thoughts turned to the children and (without details) we carried on the lessons given by my father.  He was also one of the founders of the cemetery in West Asheville in 1916 and made a dream come true to create hallowed ground for our ancestors.  The Cemetery honored him while he was still living – by re-naming it in his honor. The Lou Pollock Memorial Park  where he and the rest of my family are all buried.
 
As for the Haywood Street Pollock’s Store. It was actually called the Cinderella Store and sold ladies’ shoes only.  Whereas the store on Patton Avenue sold Men’s, Ladies’
and Children’s. There were 2 floors. 
 
Did you see the SHADOW of the letters POLLOCK’S on the wall where the letters were removed when remodeled?  They still remain.
 
Thanks for remembering my Father in such a special way, I have many memories still alive on Patton Avenue and Haywood Street. 
That is from Betty Pollock Golden, who is 89 years old.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Rest of the Story

6 responses to “Updates – The Rest of the Story

  1. Lillace Christianson

    Priceless memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Priceless is right, Lillance! Got a bit misty over that last update. Am so grateful you include these for us, Lizzie!

    Like

  3. That Vera Neumann fabric is terrific! Reading about the Schumacher license rang a bell. I recently ran across this really cool Vera “Savannah Grass” print silk from 1956 in Cooper Hewitt’s online archives (make sure you click the pic to expand; the print’s a little hard to see otherwise): https://collection.cooperhewitt.org/objects/18638181/

    Like

  4. Oh, that’s fab! You unearth the most interesting pieces of history.

    Like

  5. I just love the leaf printed fabric by Vera!

    Like

  6. it was amazing jobs, its very beatiful thanks for sharing..
    inspiring

    Like

Leave a Reply

