A Good Shopping Day

After whining about the poor state of the vintage market, I thought I really ought to counter my last post with a more positive view.  That is, simply put, there are plenty of old treasures still out there.  Many times the things are tremendous bargains.  I don’t buy things because they are cheap, though.  I buy what I know is fairly priced, and finding a bargain is always a pleasant plus.

I mentioned in the comments that I could resale everything I bought on that shopping trip and make a nice profit.  These days I buy only for my collection, but with a bit of luck and patient looking, one can still find things for resale, and I suspect that part of the reason I find fewer things for myself is because diligent sellers have shopped before me.

The bag above was someone’s embroidery project, and she did a very nice job of it.  Instructions for bags of this nature are commonly found in women’s magazines in the 1910s through the early 20s.  This is linen, embroidered in  cotton.  The ribbons are old, but probably not original, as they appear to be a later rayon type.

I’ll give a better look at all these items later, because you really do need a good look at the details of all.  The Christmas card is actually a photo holder.

I found this little change purse at an antiques mall.  It is only three inches high, and probably dates from the later 1940s or early 50s.

I’ve been looking for a good pair of dumbbells, not to use, but to display with my early gym attire.  These are only a half pound each, and must have been for a very weak person, or maybe a child.

After having just posted about vintage chenille, I was lucky enough to stumble across this beach cape.  See the anchors?

And the back is a complete beach scene with palms, sun, gulls, and what might be a life preserver.

And what was probably my favorite find, an early 1920s dress, complete with machine embroidery and covered button trim.  My photo does not begin to do it justice, and I will post a better photo of it later to show it off and to talk about the construction.

Here’s a closer look at the hem along with the buttons.

I don’t usually talk about the prices of things, as what is more important is an object’s value as an object of history and as a piece that helps me tell a story through my collection.  But as proof that bargains are still to be found, I will tell you that I paid a total of $59 for the items above.  Yes, it was a very good shopping day.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Shopping

13 responses to “A Good Shopping Day

  1. My jaw dropped when I read your total.
    Fan-TAS-tic post.
    And shopping!

    Like

  2. I look forward to reading more about the dress!

    Like

  3. *applauds* These are all such fantastic finds, Lizzie! I especially love that dress–what a beauty.

    Like

  4. I love the beach cover up! Wishing that we could take a shopping excursion soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. the beach cape is a nice find!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mim

    Machine embroidered or not, that 1920s dress is a beaut.

    Like

  7. Phyl D.

    Oh, that 1920s dress – absolutely love the embroidery colors and design…can’t wait to hear more on this one!

    Like

  8. Waist shrink

    Wow… I am very interested in a pair of your dumbbells. How beautiful the dumbbells. You are very lucky to get that unique dumbbells. Where did you get it?

    Like

  9. AMAZING finds!!! You know that dress really caught my eye! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

