Vintage Miscellany – May 1, 2016

I recently was lucky enough to get a set of photo from fellow VFG member, Poppy’s Vintage Clothing, all of a group of women and a golf club.  Note that there is a very important element missing in the photo above – the golf ball!  It appears that the women were just posing.  I posted on Instagram that the women all looked to be too corseted to be playing golf, and was then sent a photo of a circa 1895 golfing corset.  I guess it was like the spots bra of that era.

My photos are not dated, but are 1910 or so.

I appreciate all the thoughtful comments and interesting ideas posted last week in my series on working toward a guilt-free closet.  The topic continues to be in the news.

21 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

21 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – May 1, 2016

  1. Thank you for the link to that Guardian article.

    Like

  2. That “no sketching” piece is…wow..

    Interesting collection of articles – thanks.

    Like

  3. Is fashion art – or art fashion!???! Who is asking and why? Are they looking for valuable information/answers from highly skilled/educated persons to reply for objective points of view–masking the question to obtain answers for personal gain?

    Like

  4. Leigh Ann

    When I read articles about how consumers give lip service to buying ethically produced garments, or American made garments, etc., but when it comes down to it, many (most?) continue buying clothing that is fast fashion or produced in factories overseas with likely bad conditions because that clothing is cheap, I get depressed. I’ve been a critic of this behavior, though not always innocent of it myself. (As I mentioned before, I’m plus sized, and even with the best of intentions, sometimes I get discouraged at what’s available and just take what I can get.) I really do think, though, that we all need to make more of an effort. Many of us have far too much–we have so many clothes that our closets are stuffed. I remember a comment from a French woman I read years ago: “How can you be well dressed when you have so much to choose from?” There’s something to that, I think. However, yesterday I was in line behind a young mother of four. Her children, all small, were adorable. She and they were neatly, though not expensively, dressed. The little girls had bows in their hair. It was obvious she had put thought and effort into getting them all ready for the day. She was buying a few items of clothing for the children. She had gotten the items off the 60% off rack and was using coupons. And still, she double-checked the price of each item with the cashier, carefully counting out her money to make sure she had enough. And I really thought then about how many would fare if they were paying three times the price for everything. And I realized again the extent of my fortunate life, with my organic vegetables and ability to pay more for ethical clothing when I can find it. And that makes me depressed again, because I really do believe we need to do something about all this badly made, inexpensive clothing and all the excess and waste and poor working conditions. But what the answer is, I don’t know. I fear it is going to be much more complicated than I sometimes think.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not sure if we are supposed to feel sorry for the Met’s finances or not… I guess since the lost a fortune with Bernie Madoff and Brooke Astor is no longer around to write cheques, they need to start correcting their spending to match their income… I know one thing for sure – they can’t expect to crowd more people into that building to make more money because when we go we make sure we go off season, mid week, and first thing in the morning because otherwise, our visit is an unpleasant shuffle through the galleries.

    Like

  6. Being half Honduran and half Mexican this subject is very important to me. I hate to contribute to the the waste fast fashion produces and also to support these companies that oppress my people who work at these “factories” (or Maquiladors)for slave wages.I cannot afford clothes from places like reformation or other retailers that sell ethically produced garments. I have always been a thrifter but since last summer I have stopped wearing new clothes and shop exclusively at thrift stores (with the exception of undergarments, socks and skate shoes (as I go through shoes very quickly). I believe that the more people like you and I discuss this topic and also boycott fast fashion the demand for ethically produced garments will grow and the prices will eventually become more competitive. Little by little the tide is changing we just have to keep advocating. It may not happen tomorrow but I know it can. I remember decades ago finding vegan food was much more difficult than it is today and that is because the demand has grown.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Superb collection of links! These museum stories all make me feel like the museum world is a little (probably more than a little) out of touch with the rest of the world. Or maybe I’m just still mad at the new design of the Met’s online collections (I hate the endless scroll).

    Like

  8. Always informative, thank you!

    Like

  9. No…sketching? Their argument for moving people through is about increasing the head count for megashows, which are oversold and overpriced. And woe betide you if you try to travel back upstream to revisit something.
    I am tired of event megashows. I am tired of shows where they prevent photos and sketching and leave out important bits from the book they seem to be promoting by restricting photos and sketching. If I spend several hundred dollars to get to the city and stay there to see a show, I will be damned if I am going to be railroaded through. You can toss me out (I have been tossed out, I am sure I will be again) for simply looking too long at one thing, as long as you refund my admission fee. And my airfare. And my hotel room.
    I’ll go continue ranting in the gift shop…

    Like

    • Your comment made me laugh, but I do get the seriousness of your point. I go to exhibitions to learn and to think and to see. Being herded through accomplished none of those goals.

      I went to a house museum this past week that limits photos to only a few areas of the house, and sketching was permitted only with permission. Ten years ago I spent an entire afternoon in the same museum with my sketchbook and pencils. I’m a sketcher, and it is an important part of most of my museum visits. I hate this new “rule.”

      Like

  10. If you want slow fashion, you’ve got to somehow persuade people that they don’t need a new set of clothes each season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

