Vintage Miscellany – November 20, 2016

I found this photo of the perfectly attired beach couple along with a few others from the same roll of film.  At some point I want to show all of the photos, but for now let’s just admire them the way they are admiring each other.

And in that frame of mind, here is the news:

A few words before I post the next few links:  This blog is about fashion history and fashion issues.  I have never shied away from links to sites that might make those of us who are more privileged feel uncomfortable.  I have posted links to articles that discuss the clothing of world leaders and the wives of leaders.  I have posted about abuses within the clothing manufacturing industry, both in the past and the present.  As an historian, I know that fashion and clothing are an integral part of our culture, and should not be treated as mere fluff.

In keeping with this practice, I will be posting links to articles about the president-elect that are of interest to fashion scholars.  These links all will have to do with fashion, and are not meant as a political statement.  Each reader must take each link as it is meant – to inform about fashion issues.

That said, I want to make it clear that I am very dismayed at the way the election played out, and at the events still occurring within the presidential transition.  I will continue to ask the president-elect to bring his own family’s clothing manufacturing to the USA.  You can feel free to disagree with me or with the content of any of my links, but fair warning, this blog is a place where only civil discourse will be tolerated.

And to help us all with our own personal struggles, take a listen to the Avett Brothers’ No Hard Feelings.

 

26 Comments

Filed under Vintage Miscellany

26 responses to “Vintage Miscellany – November 20, 2016

  1. Leigh Ann

    Wow. I didn’t vote for Trump (or for Clinton either). But some of the people in those stories need to take a deep breath and a step back from near-hysteria. My candidate lost too, and I don’t like Trump. But he is to be the President, and Melania the first lady, and a fashion blog refusing to cover her fashion choices is ridiculous. Think of the outcry if that had happened with Michelle! Seriously, does everything has to be political? I’m not suggesting that nothing should be, or that we should all just pretend everything is fine when we don’t feel that it is. But I don’t see why their political views prevent them from reporting on what she wears. Do they then agree with the the political views of everyone else they report on? That seems unlikely.

    As always, though, I enjoy your blog and appreciate your links and news items that you report on. Thanks.

    Like

  2. I can’t see that boycotting Amazon, (or Macys, or Dillard’s…) will do any good. Personally, I love the idea of boycotts( I grew up in a Union household, and we boycotted everything from JP Stevens towels to Welch’s grape juice!), but boycotts have to be closely targeted in order to work. The seller of boycotted goods will soon enough get the message if enough people refuse to buy the disputed goods.

    I do hope to join you and Sarah at Biltmore. I might even dress for the occasion!

    Like

  3. Dear LIZZIE! I expected your “policy” re: fashion and politics to be exactly what you have stated. How refreshing! I personally do not care who/what anyone voted for – or who they like / dislike unless it is an open political discussion! In Washington one never discusses /mixes politics in the same vein. As was left to the fashion editor at Washington Dossier the “business” side of fashion I left to my friend Nina Hyde at The Washington Post covering the business side of the industry. The only thing I can or would like to add to this discussion is …nothing will surprise me with this new/very different take over. All that Glitters is not gold! we ALL are very aware of that old chestnut! I look forward to your upcoming posts/viewpoint/reporting the very serious developments within the fashion business. THANK YOU!

    Like

  4. Diana coleman

    Perhaps it would be a generous idea to give the new administration a chance before spouting doom and gloom. On the positive side….doesn’t Melania look great whether her clothes are off the rack or couture?

    Like

  5. Diana coleman

    Do I detect a note of sarcasm?

    Like

  6. Great links, as usual, Lizzie. Not your fault of course, but many of these stories left me depressed. (Although the rat in the hem kind of gave me a giggle; I’m perverse.)

    I think for many of us, this election goes beyond simple politics as usual and people are seeing Trump’s election and the direction in which he is taking/will take the country as terrifying. My choice is to fight against him from the start.

    Like

  7. Christina

    Meaningful post. My fellow Canadians felt the shock-waves of your election. That’s some chasm. The parliamentary system works 🙂

    Like

  8. Ruth

    Oh PUHLEEZE…I think most of those fashion…I can’t think of a word for them here…are just jealous sick, So far Melania has shown class, her choices are quiet and understated, she doesn’t try to up stage her husband and I think it’s great if she buys them off the rack! (I’d swear I remember Michelle Obama making the same claim when her husband cam into office.) I’m so tired of screamingly loud and occasionally ugly color choices being touted as the thing to wear now. I didn’t particularly like Nancy Reagan or either of the Bush ladies but at least they dressed like they were grown up ladies! Their fashion choices represented the country and it was a good look, dependable and reasonable, like something you’d expect from your grandmother or favorite teacher. After all we can’t be like Jackie Kennedy and set fashion trends. If she has to go out of country to find a designer to work with, or if she even wants to, it’s too bad, but it’s all the fault of snotty designers punishing her (and us) for politics. Frankly I think they should be roundly ridiculed anyway for the ridiculous fashions they push anymore. We all have the right to our own political beliefs and it’s time for something more reasonable and responsible. Leave the weird fashion to Lady Gaga or Madonna or Bjork. It wasn’t her choice to be First Lady, it came with being the wife of someone who was running for office and frankly, I hope she keeps on like she is.

    Like

  9. Ruth

    Sorry, not trying to be mean here, just tired of politics coming into everything because people think their opinions/candidates were the only right ones. It’s fashion for goodness’ sake! Get riled up about how it’s produced or hemlines, not a candidate’s wife!

    Like

    • Well, my original point was that fashion is an important part of our culture, and that it does not happen in a vacuum. Is it fair to boycott Trump products? In my opinion, yes. Is it fair to target Mrs. Trump? No, but this is not a new thing in our society. I can remember all the horrible things said about how ugly Amy Carter was, and how dowdy Mrs. Carter was. Even Mrs Reagan was frequently called names in the press, not for her looks, but for her demeanor. And I’ll just throw in the nasty things said about Mrs. Obama as well. I really think that there is a strong undercurrent of sexism at play. So, I agree that targeting Mrs. Trump might be hitting below the belt, but people are angry and, frankly, scared.

      I know that people go on and on about the fashion of Mrs. Kennedy, and Mrs. Reagan, and Mrs. Obama, but the most impressed I’ve ever been with a particular look worn by a first lady was the white Oscar de la Renta coat worn by Laura Bush for the 2005 Inauguration. Stunning!

      Like

      • Ruth

        True, just look at the fashions the stars wear to the things they go to. It runs the gamut from gorgeous gowns to god awful trash. And what gets me are these women have the money and bodies to show off beautiful gowns and it seems to be about how much boob and butt they can get away with! I know that’s their trademarks but, really! I do hold politicians wives to a higher standard as they are supposed to be representing us. I know they have a right to their own taste in fashion, but it should be tastefully done. And yes, there are hits and misses there, for sure. I guess I’m officially old because the extremes in clothing just don’t interest me and I’d really rather people stay a little more covered up in public. (Though certainly not as far as women having to wear head to toe coverings and men getting away with much less.) I also agree with don’t look if you don’t like it, but politics still needs to stay out of our clothing unless we are in uniform or at something that we need clothing to show our allegiance. And I did always feel sorry for daughters that were less polished than their mothers and often wondered if no one made an effort to guide these young ladies.

        Like

    • Christina

      I think the issue here is guilty by association and people are venting their anger in the way they can express it best. It’s a protest. That’s okay. It’s actually quite interesting to see an aspect of fashion used as a form of political expression. That’s why fashion isn’t just about hemlines.

      Like

  10. LB

    Georganna and I love the Avett Brothers and have seen them 3 times – most recently, last month in Greenville. Might I suggest “Ain’t No Man” to lift your spirits.

    Like

  11. As for fashion, I’d just be grateful if they’d stop with the politics and start designing clothes that look good on an average woman. All too often, I see what’s on the runway and ask myself “what on earth were they thinking?”.

    For those who might think of manufacturing stateside, two thoughts; think local (get rid of distribution channels) to drop the gap in production costs, and look at serving people who with “non-average” body types. Good example is my daughter’s cross country teammates–they came to their awards banquet with garments that (sigh) seemed to be designed for young ladies about half a foot shorter simply because they aren’t that big around.

    Learn to fit them affordably, and you might have a business. It’s really going back about a century in how clothes were made, though.

    Like

  12. I read that LA workers article awhile ago, and it was so crushing.

    The stories that have come out about Trump and his clothing line and the dressing of the First Lady have been very interesting. I recall a campaign ad that featured footage of Trump on Letterman where Letterman had several pieces of Trump’s line and showed where they were made. Trump just raised his eyebrows and shrugged his shoulders like “What ya gonna do? That’s just how it is.” The ad went on to say “He knows where they are made.” and how his slogan was hypocritical.

    I appreciate you sticking to your guns regarding the historical look at what the First Family will be wearing and how it plays into our culture. And I look forward to those article and discussions.

    Like

    • To me, the most important issue is this one – the fact that the Trump family manufactures abroad. It seems to me that a fantastic first step in following through with that big promise to bring jobs back to the USA would be for him to shift to domestic production. But I’m not holding my breath!

      Like

  13. A little late to the party: pockets. Never big enough. Recently I have noticed how weirdly placed they are on my husband’s jeans. Waaaaaaay down there, so that they line up with the sitz bones. Ow.
    People are too fond of cheap food and clothes to pay the prices they’d pay for USA production, unless we pay the wages they pay abroad. I don’t see it changing. The Carrier plant got a huge tax break to keep half of those jobs here; I’ll guarantee you they aren’t the higher wage ones.
    Would you like fries with that?

    Like

    • Well, either way (domestic production vs. paying a high tariff to import foreign-made goods) prices for clothing will go up. And maybe that’s not such a bad thing, as over-consumption of cheap clothing is smothering our planet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

