Shopping with the Vintage Traveler

When the going gets tough, the tough shop for vintage.  As usual, I spotted some really interesting things.  The table croquet set above is complete in the original box.  I am guessing that it dates to the 1880s, but could use some help narrowing down the date.  Click the photo to get a better look at the beautiful label.

In the same store was this cracker box lid.  I loved the big dog carrying the basket of crackers for the child.

Child clothing experts, is this a girl or a boy, or is it impossible to tell?

Progressing through time to the 1940s, I loved how a very fashionable woman was being used to sell Skrip ink.  “Individuality with Color”

This early 1940s (or very late 1930s) sure has shades of  Scarlett O’Hara wearing the drapery.  Gone with the Wind was released in 1939, and of course fashion was influenced.

WWII era instruction book for making hats, or rather, “Fascinating Toppers.”

If I were not so fascinated with clothing, I think I’d collect Edwardian books just for the decorative appeal.  1907

Tammis Keffe is probably remembered more for the whimsical hankies she designed in the 1950s, but she also did work for household linens companies.

Will you have that cocktail on ice?

I’m sorry about the quality of this photo, but windows are impossible when the sun is shining.  I simply could not pass up a vintage sewing themed window, spotted in an antique store.

Even more vintage sewing.  I’ve been tempted to actually buy and use one of these folding sewing stands.

I must have had sewing on my mind.  This box is covered with a Grandma Moses print.  In the 1950s the Riverdale Fabric Company made home furnishing fabrics using Moses’ paintings as the print.

Spotted in a photo album, this photo of a woman circa 1930 was of interest because I own a similar pyjama.

All this talk about shopping has put me in the mood for a trip out to the stores.  Who needs Black Friday!

11 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Curiosities, Shopping

11 responses to “Shopping with the Vintage Traveler

  1. Great stuff! the dog with the cracker basket made me think: OMG, he is going to either eat them all or drool into the uncovered basket!

    Like

  2. Just a suggestion: you can try a polarizing lens or a lens hood to negate the reflection on glass.
    Great stuff. I love the croquet set, but I think the cracker box is somehow more exciting!

    Like

  3. Those Tammis Keefe napkins are great!

    Like

  4. Astral Marc

    Something about the boot/stocking situation and the kilt-like style of the skirt makes me think it’s a boy.

    Like

  5. the book cover illustration would make a great scarf print!
    lovely sewing cabinet!

    Like

  6. Christina

    I think the soda cracker tin shows a late Victorian boy. The fringe or bang style was typical for boys of that age. He might be 2-3 + but there is a bit of artistic licence in the depicted image. For girls, convention dictated that hair was grown long and eventually could be worn loose or in tied up in braids or in any of the fashionable Victorian styles. If this was a young girl I would have expected ringlets. A good comparison would be the well known photo of Franklin D. Roosevelt aged two and a half taken in 1884.

    Like

Leave a Reply

