Sewing Project: Simplicity 2208

It’s been a while since I did a post on what I’ve been sewing. That doesn’t mean I’ve not been sewing, only that I forget to make photos during the process. Lately I’ve been turning a stack of lightweight cottons into lightweight cotton tops for the hot weather. Not too exciting, but quickness of the makes and the wearability of the garments have been rewarding.

This jacket was an earlier spring project. I found the pattern above at the Goodwill Outlet some time ago. I seems like all the sewing patterns go directly into the bins, as I’ve never seen any in the regular retail stores. My guess is that they do require a special customer, like me. When I run across them in the bins, I pretty much buy any that I might possibly want to make.

The fabric is a two-sided cotton that I bought at Mood in New York City about three years ago. My plan for it was always a jacket. When I saw view C of the pattern, I put it in my sewing queue. It was not until I started to cut the fabric that I noticed there were no pockets. That’s not such a big deal, as pockets are easy to add, but who designs a jacket without pockets? Neither of the two coats have pockets either. Puzzling!

The texture and weight of the fabric is really perfect for a spring jacket. My plan was to make use of both sides of the fabric.

I made the binding from a linen that I had that was a good match. All the seams were sewn with wrong sides together, and then the binding applied over the exposed seams.

The pattern called for a separating zipper, but I did not have one that would work. so I decided instead to go with hook and eyes. I had a bunch of these larger brass-finished ones that worked nicely.

I thought a long time about how I wanted to do the pockets. At first I considered doing in-seam side pockets, but settled on interior pockets instead. They are quite deep, as I like to carry too much stuff. One even has snaps to make my stuff more secure.

And here is the finished jacket. Sorry about the floor shot but it really is the best way for you to see how it all came together. I took it with me to the Midwest, and wore it quite a bit as it helped to break up all the black I tend to wear while traveling.

14 Comments

Filed under Sewing

14 responses to “Sewing Project: Simplicity 2208

  1. that’s fantastic. I can’t sew clothes to save my life so I’m jealous!

    Like

  2. It’s always nice to see nice sewing like this. I love the binding.

    Like

  3. Great fabric and love the way you used the reverse also. What a cool piece.

    Like

  4. Great adaptation with the double weave. I see patterns when I am in Joplin’s Salvation Army but never at Goodwill. One of my Bucket List visits is Mood Fabrics in New York. I mail order a lot from them. I was going to feature a Simplicity Pattern on my blog today, but, because of a sewing deadline, I skipped today’s post. I especially love how your “stash” linen matched perfectly. I got a kick out of this since you put it up on a day that I have been sewing most of the time.

    Like

  5. Love it! Such beautiful accuracy on the trim. And the reverse side doesn’t snag?

    Like

  6. Beautiful work — and hooray for pockets! I don’t think I have ever produced such beautiful hook stitching.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I like the hood. That would come in handy when I’m out getting a sunburn on the back of my neck,
    Goodwill in Seattle dumps four or five random patterns into a plastic bag and seals it shut so you can’t see what the interior patterns might be. And then they charge you $5 for the pack. Their fabric situation is equally ghastly in terms of merchandising. I realize that Value Village lacks a few real nonprofit points, but the patterns are perusable, $0.69 apiece, and the fabric hangs on pants hangers so you can look at it and see how good or ruined it might be.
    One other thing I’ve noticed at VV: if there’s a machine parts box, or a walking foot with the patterns, there’s usually a well-maintained machine in it’s cabinet across the store. At Goodwill, that machine is available online, somewhere else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

