Made in the USA – Fresh Produce

I’ve been wearing Fresh Produce for years, having been seduced by the comfortable cotton, cheery colors and Made in the USA tag.  I’d long thought of the brand as beach clothes, and it is true that many of the things they make are best accessorized with a sun hat and a pair of flip flops.  But the truth is, this company makes a really good line of cotton knit basics, including everything from tanks to jackets and dresses.

When I first started buying Fresh Produce, about eight years ago, all the clothes were made in the USA.  Even eight years ago, this was unusual, as so many companies had long since moved production to Asia.  Then, about three years ago I bought a pair of Fresh Produce pants, got them home and discovered those three scary words printed on the label – made in China.  I was flabbergasted.  A  quick look through their website confirmed that quite a bit of their production had been moved out of the US.

But this story has a happy ending.  The Fresh Produce company realized that the grass in China was not greener, and for the past two years, have brought the majority of production back to their California factory.  Their latest line, Spring 2012 is over 80% made in the USA.  What Fresh Produce learned is that making their clothes in the US cuts down on the amount of time between making the clothes and selling them.  Stores can re-order popular styles and have them shipped much more quickly than when the production was in China.

I’m really happy that a company whose clothes I wear and enjoy has made this decision to bring manufacturing back to the USA.  Now, if some others would follow their example…

If you decide to check out Fresh Produce, and are interested only in their made in the USA items, the description for the item will say Made in the USA.  You’ll see that the great majority of items are.  Now, for a few of my favorites:

This is the 3/4 Sleeve Logo Fem Top.  I’m showing it in the plus size so you will see that, yes, plus sizes are included.  It is also in regular sizing, and has been a part of the Fresh Produce line-up for as long as I can remember.  I have this in three or four colors, as they are basics in my wardrobe.  This is not a company that makes fast fashion based on what Forever 21 is ripping off from designers.  You will find the same favorites and even the same colors year after year, but there are new and more trendy items as well.

I’m not much for ruffles, but I have this tee, the Baby Rib Island Top,  and love it.  Mine is black.

Here’s another of my summer basics, the Jersey Tiered Skirt.  There cannot be a more comfortable skirt.  I wear it in the place of shorts.

If you are wanting to try Fresh Produce, I suggest you find a store that sells it.   I find it is good to feel and try on a new line if possible.  I will say that the on-line  size chart is accurate if that is your only alternative.   There are 40 or so Fresh Produce stores, but the lines are available pretty much nation wide in boutiques and department stores.  The closer you are located to an ocean, the more likely you are to have a store near you that carries Fresh Produce.  I bought my first pieces in Charleston, SC, where the Ashley and Cooper Rivers come together to form the Atlantic Ocean.

And in case this is reading like a paid ad, I can assure you it is not.  I only post about companies of which I have experience.

All photos courtesy of and copyright of Fresh Produce Clothing.

13 Comments

Filed under Made in the USA

13 responses to “Made in the USA – Fresh Produce

  1. Sharon

    Cute stuff, and it looks very comfortable. How does it wear?

    Like

  2. Very well, actually. I have a few pieces that are at least 7 years old, and they still look great.

    Like

  3. KeLLy Ann

    I just discovered the tiered skirt is great for my figure! I am going to check them out from Fresh Produce. I’m also a big! fan of the first shirt, esp. since it’s V neck….thanks for the info!

    Like

  4. Linda Baker

    I have been wearing Fresh Produce for over 15 years and last week I went to buy some more of their clothes but saw the tags saying made in China. I walked out of the store , up set to see Made in China on Fresh Produce clothes. .

    Like

    • About 5 years ago Fresh Produce moved a good part of their production to China, mainly woven cottons. But I read about a year ago that they were phasing out Chinese production, and had beefed up their USA production.

      Like

      • Dorothy Herman

        I use to buy Fresh Produce all the time. My shorts show “Boulder Colorado”. I know nothing about a California manufacturing plant but i bought these because they showed “Made in USA”. I would like a list of stores ONLY if Made in USA.

        Like

      • Dorothy Herman

        I use to buy Fresh Produce all the time. My shorts show “Boulder Colorado”. I know nothing about a California manufacturing plant but i bought these because they showed “Made in USA”. I would like a list of stores ONLY if Made in USA.

        Like

        • Rose Marie

          Then I suggest you either get cracking.. or go to their online site. Sadly, most stores I have been in that carry Fresh Produce (or online for that matter), the clothes are showing: “Made in China”, so the company is still struggling.. Child labor.. I won’t purchase any longer. 😦

          Like

  5. Jonie

    Just checked out the website…couldn’t find any made in the USA randomly clicking around and searching came up with no results.

    Like

  6. Dar Bee

    I too have been an avid Fresh Produce fan for more than 15 years. Sadly the fabrics and sizing have changed over the last several years and not for the better. Very disappointing. Whenever I see a vintage piece in my size (3X) on eBay or etsy, I’m on it!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.