Time Warp Store – M.A. Pace’s Store in Saluda, NC

If you have been reading The Vintage Traveler for a while, you already know that I love what I call time-warp stores.  These are like little pieces of the past that have somehow survived.  Unfortunately, they are getting harder and harder to find. Lots of times, the owners are getting up in years, and when they retire, that’s the end of the store.  Many times they become gentrified, like the wonderful old Mast Store in Valle Crucis, NC.  Others just sit empty, and are soon forgotten.

I figured I’d better pay a visit to one of my favorites, the M.A. Pace Store in Saluda, NC.  This store was founded in 1899 by the current owner’s father.  It’s been in the same building for 100 years.

I was right to go because the place is for sale.  Mr. Robert Pace is thinking about retirement.  I can just see this place being taken over by the Mast people (think Life is Good tee shirts and Woolrich.  Not bad things, but in their proper place, please!)

But in the meantime, if you happen to be anywhere near Saluda, go see Mr. Pace’s store before it is gone.  And if you are not near it, get out there and find your own time-warp store!  Then let me know about it so I can hopefully wrangle a visit.

The store is now a combination of new and old merchandise, with all the old stuff being original to the store and not for sale.  The original shelves line the walls, and they are full of old shoe boxes (yes, with the shoes inside), sewing notions, and clothing boxes.  There was a sign that read not to open the boxes, but Mr. Pace said he’s turn his head so I could peek into a few!  There is everything from 1910s boots to shoes from the 60s.  And no matter how sweetly you ask, he will no sell – unless you want to buy all of it!

Comments:

Posted by Joules:

Oh, I would like to pay a visit! Glad you did Lizzie, and it was awfully nice of Mr. Pace, to let you peek inside the shoe boxes. 

Wednesday, March 10th 2010 @ 11:44 AM

Posted by Mod Betty / Retro Roadmap:

What a cool place! I know exactly what you mean by time-warp stores. I’ll add this to the Retro Roadmap to help drum up some business…maybe he won’t retire after all! 

Wednesday, March 10th 2010 @ 3:05 PM

Posted by Catseye Vintage:

This is amazing! I would think I had died and gone to heaven to actually be able to go into this store and see the shoes in their original boxes. I wonder what’s inside the clothing boxes? 😮 

Wednesday, March 10th 2010 @ 4:22 PM

Posted by Lizzie:

I’m glad you all love this place! Betty, if you look on my other blog, there is a link to a map that shows the location. Thanks for helping show the way! 

Wednesday, March 10th 2010 @ 4:23 PM

Posted by Catwalk Creative Vintage:

Wow! What an amazing place. And like everyone else, I was so keen to see the shoes stored inside the boxes. What an absolute treat. When he said he’d only sell if you bought everything, did he mean the whole shop or just all the shoes? How tempting!
Interesting post as always. 🙂 

Thursday, March 11th 2010 @ 11:56 AM

Posted by Lizzie:

The whole shop! 

Some of the shoes I looked at were like new, but others were in pretty sad shape.

The clothing boxes look to be mainly undies.

Thursday, March 11th 2010 @ 1:38 PM

Posted by Sarah:

Experiences like this are rare and precious – its like time travelling! Thanks for sharing this with us. 

And I hope you left your business card with Mr Pace, juuuust in case he ever changes his mind . . .

Friday, March 12th 2010 @ 2:20 AM

Posted by Tonia:

WOW! I love it!!!:) 

Saturday, March 20th 2010 @ 10:44 PM

7 Comments

Filed under North Carolina, Road Trip, Shopping

7 responses to “Time Warp Store – M.A. Pace’s Store in Saluda, NC

  1. Pingback: M.A. Pace Store Saluda, NC -The Vintage Traveler’s Time Warp Shop « RetroRoadmap.com

  2. Hello Lizzie- just got a comment on my repost of your write-up on RetroRoadmap.com and Debbie writes:

    “This store has just been reopened by the granddaughter of a former employee. The old boxes are still there and I didn’t think to ask if they’re for sale! There’s lots of fun stuff – including great old photos and memorabilia. Definitely worth a visit!”

    Thought you might want to investigate 😉

    Like

    • Funny, but I almost went there yesterday but got sidetracked by a chance antique sale. I’ll check it out asap though, as I am curious about what they will do with the old inventory. I’m betting they keep most of it. I know I would. I just cannot imagine that place without Mr. Pace!

      Like

  3. Laura Fields

    I live in Saluda and the best part about M.A. Pace’s Store was the family who ran it for so many years. I’m very grateful to have known and loved the two Pace sisters and two Pace brothers that contributed to our Main Street and our community. They are gone now but not forgotten by those of us who can still remember their cheerful faces and kind words as they personally greeted every patron to their store. I’m sure America is dotted with stores like M.A. Pace and I hope their communities appreciate them like we do ours.

    Like

  4. Pingback: M.A. Pace Store Saluda NC | RetroRoadmap.com

  5. Pingback: M.A. Pace’s Store in Saluda, NC, Still Open and Still Worth the Trip | The Vintage Traveler

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.