Winx , Art Deco Mascara

When this box of Winx Mascara was made in the late 1920s, mascara was a relatively new product.  Though the idea goes back to ancient times – think Cleopatra – it was not until the 19th century that a commercial form of lash darkener was made.   Eugene Rimmel took the newly developed petroleum jelly and added coal dust.  That gave the desired effect, but was, as you might imagine, a bit messy.

In Victorian and Edwardian times, makeup was still not universally accepted, but silent films with their glamorous  actresses, brought about a huge interest in cosmetics.  The exotic Theda Bara and Pola Negri with their dark and smoldering eyes set a new vision of beauty.

In 1915  T.L. Williams started making a similar product here in the US after seeing his sister Maybel concoct a Vaseline and coal dust mascara.  He marketed his mascara under the name Maybelline (Maybel + Vaseline) and in 1917, developed a mascara in cake form.  Cake mascara was basically soap with black dye added.  It was a huge improvement over the old petroleum jelly type, and although there were liquid mascaras marketed through the years, it was not until Helena Rubinstein developed one in 1958 that the cake mascara began to lose favor.

Even in the late 1960s you could still buy the little red plastic boxes of Maybelline cake mascara.  I can remember using it when I first started wearing (or actually sneaking around and wearing) mascara in 7th grade.   It was super cheap, and easy to hide, and it did quite well if you added enough water to get a good mix.  But that was the real problem – you had to have a source of water.  Still, I sort of miss those little boxes.

I found this great box with unused mascara at the Hillsville flea market last weekend.  I don’t normally buy cosmetics unless the packaging is this wonderful.  I really could not resist!

And, just for fun, a 1924 Maybelline ad:

Now THAT’S some lashes!

22 Comments

Filed under Collecting

22 responses to “Winx , Art Deco Mascara

  1. Lizzie, you are a marvel. I always look forward to reading your informative posts and this is certainly no exception. You are a true vintage connoisseur!

    What I find amazing is that when mascara was first introduced, they used petroleum jelly with coal dust. Ah hem! . . . . . Guess what I use to remove my eye makeup? . . . . . Petroleum jelly!!! haha! I’ve tried every eye makeup remover under the sun and hated all of them. I wear waterproof mascara and find that petroleum jelly is perfect for removing it. Also, it leaves the skin lovely and soft. Seriously, I swear by it – and it’s CHEAP!!!

    I can’t imagine using it with coal dust. Incredible!

    Thanks Lizzie. Wonderful post. 🙂

    Like

  2. I would not have been able to resist that sweet deco box either!
    Thanks for the great post!

    Like

  3. Em

    How interesting! I love the box from the graphics to the fonts. Super cool!

    Like

  4. Zelle

    Here I can still buy this kind of mascara made by Pinaud. And I truly love spending a time to apply it to my lashes!

    Like

  5. Great post! I just purchased a book about the history of Maybelline and this ad was in it 🙂

    Like

  6. You always make such interesting posts 🙂

    Like

  7. Love this! That Winx packaging is wonderful. And I never knew the source of the name Maybelline. Thank you, Lizzie!

    Like

  8. I just realized that I have a 1960s Maybelline mascara. Photos later…

    Like

  9. oh man, what a find! the packaging is adorable and I like that the product itself is still intact, esp the writing. Winx is kinda the best name for a mascara, too

    Like

  10. Pingback: The working life of Museum of London » Blog Archive » Dressing Daughter For Dinner

  11. You are missing one very important fact, which should be corrected in your article. One mistake — my father, Hyman Joseph Mandel, invented mascara earlier. He carried the mixture in buckets on the subway, to the place where it was packaged in little tubes (similar to super-glue tubes.) It was packaged with a little brush, like the one used later with cake mascara, on a cardboard card, and wrapped in cellophane. One name was Winx, and there was another as well. THE PATENT WAS STOLEN FROM HIM. My father o”bm went on to invent the batteries used in defense systems, satellites, and other important things for the US government. He should rightfully be credited with the invention of modern day mascara as well.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Vintage Miscellany – August 19, 2012 | The Vintage Traveler

  13. Pingback: Museum of London Blog Dressing Daughter For Dinner » Museum of London Blog

  14. Tim

    I have the same box, with cake and brushes, but brown in colour. Putting it on eBay sometime soon though……

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.