The Beach Umbrella

I bought this super 1950s beach themed compact from Kickshaw at etsy a few weeks ago.  Since then it has been sitting on my desk where it elicits smiles and sighs.

Yes, it is the time of year when those of us who are not near the ocean, sit and dream of sitting in the sand under an umbrella with a cold drink at hand.   It occurred to me that the *dream* is actually better than the *reality*.   Or perhaps it is just me, but a planned long sit on the beach usually turns into a long, leisurely walk on the beach.

Either way, the beach umbrella is a strong symbol of fun times at the seashore.  It speaks of leisure and relaxation and the absence of worry.

A look at more beach umbrellas, and umbrellas at the beach:

Hunting beach, 1913, the “Westlake crowd”

1923 Lux washing powder ad

Available at AmericatheBeautiful at etsy.

1932 French Monte Carlo ad

1923 hosery ad

1920s postcard from Florida

1938 Tootsie Roll ad

1940s Santa Monica Beach, for sale at PostCardDepot at etsy

Girls at the beach with Grandma, circa 1945

The sweetest soft drink tray ever, and for sale in NattieCakeDesigns‘ etsy store.

From a 1960s beach cover-up

Unless noted, all ads and photos are from my personal collection.

3 Comments

Filed under Collecting, Summer Sports, Vintage Clothing, Vintage Photographs

3 responses to “The Beach Umbrella

  1. I love that Tootsie is wearing high heels at the beach.

    Like

  2. What a great post! I too love a beach umbrella and all the thoughts they evoke. Thank you for including my pepsi tray!

    Like

  3. I love it! This shade-lover says: the bigger the umbrella, the better!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.