Serbin of Miami by Marianne Serbin Friedman

Almost a year ago I showed off my new Marianne by Serbin golf set.  At the time, a lot of what I wrote in my post was guesswork, as I could find very little about Serbin in my resources and on the internet.  But as I usually do in these cases, I added to the end of the post that I’d love to hear from the Serbin family.

It took nearly a year, but the worldwideweb came through, and I got an email from Marianne Serbin Freidman, the Marianne whose name is on the label.  Marianne very kindly answered my questions, and she sent along some great photos of her family.  That’s her father, Lewis Serbin, in the photo above.

SERBIN FASHIONS

My father, Lewis I. Serbin, founded Serbin Fashions in Cleveland, Ohio in the mid-1940’s. My uncle, John Serbin joined the company a few years later.

In his young years Lewis Serbin dropped out of school after the eighth grade to work and help support his family of his parents and eight brothers and sisters. He was raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. When he met my mother who was from Cleveland, they married soon after and moved to Cleveland, and so did his brothers and sisters.

Before founding Serbin Fashions my father had the good fortune of working for Joe Lample of Lample Dresses. Joe Lample mentored many men who also went on to become very successful in the garment business. One of these men was Maurice Saltzman, the owner of Bobbie Brooks.

Serbin Fashions began as a dress company and became quite successful and in 1951, my dad and uncle flew to Miami many times, where they fell in love with the city and decided to buy a factory. Our families moved and extended the invitation to their key employees to move with the company. The Miami apparel industry was thrilled that Serbin Fashion relocated to Miami as it provided more credibility to the Miami fashion industry.

Mr. Serbin then bought a factory in Fayetteville, Tennessee for production. And in later years a very large factory was also built to handle the expansion of the company; making assured that Serbin Fashions was all “Made in America”. Serbin Fashions grew from a small company to a major force in the woman’s moderate dress and sportswear industry.

I do not remember much about Muriel Ryan. She was very talented and designed for Serbin for many years. After she retired I designed everything and handled Public Relations. Leroy Lustig Advertising Agency handled all the advertising, and there was no marketing firm. Babe Didrikson Zeharias designed the golf dresses for several years. She was the “Woman Athlete of the Half Century” and the greatest woman golfer of all time.

As the years passed Serbin had lines of dresses, sportswear, golf and tennis clothing. The company was famous for the Shirtwaist Dress and Sweater Dress and Sportswear. We also had fashion editorials in fashion magazines. The garments were sold in major department stores, mail order catalogues, pro shops and specialty stores all over the United States.

After the death of my father, Lewis I. Serbin, and fifty years of a fabulous business, our family decided to discontinue the business. My dad accomplished so much over his lifetime. Amazing for a man who never went to school beyond the eighth grade.

Written by Marianne Serbin Friedman
March, 2016

“I am the older little girl. My Dad made the matching mother- daughter dresses and also a giant doll with the same dress.”

“My Dad had a golf tournament  in Miami Beach which was Babe’s first win after her cancer and he presented her with a trophy topped with a diamond studded metal golf ball..quite a thrill for everyone.”

Serbin Sportswear, as seen at Saks Fifth Avenue in the 1960s.

A big thank you to Marianne for sharing her family’s story.

29 Comments

Filed under Designers, First Person Stories

29 responses to “Serbin of Miami by Marianne Serbin Friedman

  1. I always enjoy these family business stories. My orphaned uncle also ended his formal education at 14 and went on to become the owner of a factory/manufacturing company in Paterson, NJ, and then major commercial real estate around the NJ end of the George Washington Bridge. He also helped found one of the first community colleges in the US because he wanted people who couldn’t have the traditional college experience to have a different route to higher education. Rags to riches!

    Like

  2. How exciting to get an email a year later!

    Like

  3. suzstyle

    Wonderful

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How lovely to hear from someone who really knew the company so well!

    Like

  5. Thank YOU for this story! It is so important to pass this knowledge on…I myself understand as I have recently been working with the Key West Art and Historic Society and Museum for another Florida fashion house key West Hand Print Fabrics. The Serbin name /brand has always interested me. Now-thanks to you-we all have the history.

    Like

  6. Wonderful, Lizzie. Another piece of the history of the American garment industry.

    Like

  7. Thank you Lizzie, and Marianne Serbin Friedman, for great information and wonderful photos! (BTW, two of my vintage wardrobe favorites are Serbin dresses…:) )

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sherry

    I just picked up a red lace top/polyester skirt dress with the Serbin tag. I’d never heard of it and looked it up. This was interesting information. My dress looks like new and it is hard to believe it was made around 1991. Thanks.

    Like

  9. Pingback: 1950s Golf Dress – Babe Didrikson Golfer by Serbin | The Vintage Traveler

  10. Maureen Sharib

    Just a wonderful story. Hopefully America will see this happen again in her manufacturing sector.

    Like

  11. Muriel's Great-Niece

    Fun to read. My great-aunt was Muriel Ryan, a very talented and fascinating woman. I always appreciate hearing more about her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Great-Niece. I’ve love to know more about Muriel if you have some information to share.

      Like

      • Muriel's Great-Niece

        Muriel was a wonderful woman – talented, creative and someone who embraced new opportunities. She was one of eight children, and had a great entrepreneurial spirit. She was the fourth of eight children, born to Matthew W. Ryan and Rose Amelia Cunningham. Her father was a textile converter in New York.

        Like

  12. Candace Fitzgerald

    I worked for Serbin Fashions in their L.A. office from 1973-1978.
    My boss, George Sobel, was a brother- in- law to Lewis.
    Wonderful people. I learned so much, I went on to become a
    successful dress manufacturer myself.

    Like

    • Debbie Sobel

      Hi Candy! I am one of George Sobel’s daughters and just came upon this Serbin info before attending a talk at Stanford U. entitled “Threading History” about the history of the American garment history. So wonderful to read your comment and remember those years on Ninth Street. My father was so fond of you. Very exciting to hear that you went on to become a dress manufacturer! He would be so proud.

      Like

  13. Sherry Leeper Glotzer

    I am a cousin of Marianne’s and have wonderful memories of her and the Serbin family. Over the years we have lost touch, but I would love to reconnect. Her writing has brought back so much of the family history to me. I do hope my information reaches her.

    Like

  14. Elizabeth A. Visciano

    I am a seller of vintage fashion, and I love finding info about designers to pass along to my customers. Great article, Thank You!

    Like

  15. Nydia Marty

    Wow memories, my mother was a seamstresses at the Miami factory, and I worked cutting the sample dresses that Muriel Ryan designed. I do remember the brothers Serbin, they were very nice to all the employees and very generous on Christmas.

    Like

  16. gentlelinda

    A friend worked in the Fayetteville, TN Serbin many years, until it closed. She died and I was given the Serbin Traveler trunk with a doll and clothes. It’s made in the USA and is very nice. My children are all grown, I have no use for the precious items as I am downsizing. Do you know of anyone who might have use of these things?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.